It IS Easy Being Green!

A friend of ours has always spoken so highly of Emily, and we think that what she is doing is really rad… Sustaining our environment is something most of us value, but we don’t always know how to go about doing it. In the immortal words of NKotB, (for those younger than me– New Kids on the Block, who are attempting a come-back as we write this) “Step by step, oooo ba-a-by…” Yes, I am THAT cool. So check out the video, and feel free to share your thoughts, suggestions and questions… To vote for Emily, go to http:www.3rdwhale.com!

muah, muah
Kristin


Tags: , , , , , , ,

21 Responses to “It IS Easy Being Green!”

  1. shea Says:

    It’s always nice to see someone else who can survive without having a car:) I’ve been commuting only on a bike and pubic transportion for 7 years now. And I live in Massachusetts. Not rain, snow, sleet, hail or any other crazy weather keeps me from doing my part. If everyone did even a couple of the things you’re doing it would make such a big difference. Keep up the good work!

  2. bandaid Says:

    Word. Little changes make a big difference.

    For example, even if you can’t completely give up your car, going without it for one or two days a week still takes a load off the environment.

    A friend of mine has been gardening organically for a few years and this summer she decided to try to be totally self-sufficient when it comes to her produce. In other words, she has to produce enough so that she’s able to eat only what she grows. She even bought a few chickens for eggs. She’s still a meat eater and not hard core enough to slaughter for herself, but when it comes to her veggies and fruits, she’s on her own. It’ll be interesting to see what happens when our fall/winter weather is in play. There’s plenty of stuff still to grow, but it’s a little different.

    Anyway, self-sustaining is a lot of work, but eating from what you grow, even if it’s just a small portion of your food, is still pretty cool. And community gardens are hella better than the crappy, abandoned lots that litter cities.

  3. Marie*Andree Says:

    wow! this is awesome.. i admire people like her..! If there were more people like her ,the world would be a better place 🙂

  4. Denise Says:

    i saw this on youtube a few days ago, i love the fact that she grows her own food, and plants.

  5. Gina Says:

    I already voted for her! She seems like a really sweet girl!

    It’s great to see someone who doesn’t have a car because I don’t have one either! I don’t plan on getting one for a long long time lol.

    PS: Green is also my favorite color. 😀

  6. LI Says:

    I need to ride my bicycle much more. but my motorcycle is necessary…

    LOVE green people 🙂

  7. Frida Says:

    I’m just gonna say that, EVERYONE IN SWEDEN has to recycle and sort out before we throw anything.

    And I do use my bike although it hates me. My two biggest injeruries have happened on a bike and I’ve been taken to the hospital twice because of biking accidents.

    Emily seems great. But as long as the big pollution contributors don’t do anything about it, we’re kind of screwed in the long run. The world should’ve thought of being Green sooner.

  8. Emma Says:

    Have you guys seen the movie about that city in Brazil, called Curitiba!

    Its really inspirational!
    The city mayors and engineers had a vision in the 1970s to turn their city into an environmentally friendly, affordable transport, hardly anyone drives a car in the city anymore because buses are so efficient, low-cost housing, jobs for everyone and his brother….

    They won a United Nations award too as the ‘greenest’ city, globally.
    Its called ‘The Convenient Truth’ as opposed to the ‘Inconvenient one’ that Al Gore did. Go see it! I was so impressed!
    http://www.globalideasbank.org/site/bank/idea.php?ideaId=2236

  9. skahahoo Says:

    @Emma – Thanks for that link! Where’d you see the film? I checked Netflix and Blockbuster, but neither of them carry it. Amazon has it, but I’ll have to think about whether or not I actually want to buy the DVD. I’m trying to simplify my life by not buying things I don’t really need. But just reading that article was super inspiring! 🙂

  10. Ver0nik21 Says:

    Go green!!!

    @ Bandaid, u r so right: Little changes make a big difference!

    By planting trees, we can reduce home cooling costs by as much as 50% and grow yourself a little shade on a warm summer day.

    Every ton of recycled paper saves enough electricity to power a 3 bedroom house for an entire year.

    Wash your clothes in cold water and save yourself up to $400 a year in bills.

    If a million people each replaced just 1 incandescent bulb with a Compact Fluorescent (CFL), we could eliminate more than 200,000 tons of CO2 emissions.

    And for the girlsa in the office meaning Kristin, Kendra and Tabby:

    Computers use up to 70% less electricity when you put them to sleep instead of using a screensaver.

    If just 1 million people shut down their office PCs overnight, we could eliminate up to 45,000 tons of CO2 per year.

    Paper represents more than 70% of office waste. Print and copy on both sides of the page before taking it to the recycling bin.

    Well, hope these advices can do some good!!

    xoxoxo

    bye girls!!!

  11. Gina Says:

    That’s true… We should’ve gone green a long time ago. 😦

    Ahh, now this makes me worried about 2012 because all of this has to do with it. If more people recycled, rode their bikes to work, & such, we wouldn’t have to worry too much about global warming & all.

    Thanks for the link, Emma! And no, I haven’t seen that movie. =o

    @
    Ver0nik21

    Those are some great tips! Thank you for sharing. ^_^

  12. Denise Says:

    Has anyone seen this??

    http://www.greensburggreentown.org/

    A tornado swipped out an entire town and now they are making it fully GREEN! isnt that amazing??

  13. Gina Says:

    Whoa, that is epic win right there! 😮 I think that by rebuilding a town the NATURAL way, they’ll have a higher success rate.

  14. Arelis Says:

    There’s going to be a 13 episode reality TV series based on the rebuilding of that town on Discovery Channel. it’s also produced by Leonardo DiCaprio!! I can’t seem to find the trailer for the series online, but I remember seeing promos for it awhile back on Discovery…looked to be VERY promising.

  15. Emma Says:

    You are very welcome guys!
    @Skakahoo
    It was lecturer of mine that showed us the movie, but I think he ordered it online and has to pay royalty fees every time he shows it to his classes!
    I’ll ask around a bit for you and let you know, ok!? Thanks for your link by Colin Beaven! super interesting article.. and really makes you think..
    Consumers should start thinking ‘bigger’ picture, instead of the ‘now’, then those small changes in lifestyle won’t seem so trivial and meaningless, perhaps.

  16. Lesley Says:

    hahah kristin you just brought me back to the 80’s!i have a nice mix of NKOTB.LOL! “Step one one one we can have lots of fun!” I feel old when i talk bout my generation of songs. I start singing and everyones like what song is that?!LOL! but i am as cool as you are! hahah! my siblings, bestfriend, and i use to dance in our garage to NKOTB oh and madonna and michael jackson and create dances. haha good times! NKOTB are coming here in october in my area.im going to push my friend to go with me without feeling embarassed! its exciting!its like reliving childhood days again. its great! =)who was your favorite NKOTB? mine was of course jordan knight.LOL!

  17. Maxima Says:

    Emily…..You have my Vote.
    …and I’ll throw in this quote as well:
    -The reason why I prefer the society of nature to any other is that nature is always right and the error, if any, can only be on my side.
    But if I hold converse with humans, they will err, then I will, and so on forever, and we never get to see matters clearly-
    Goethe.

  18. Jennifer Says:

    Hey Kristin I just voted for Emily’s video. I should really start living a more green life and recycle more and grow my own organic garden. I already switched my light bulbs to those fluorescent energy saving ones and would love to learn how to make green cleaning products.

  19. skahahoo Says:

    @Jennifer (and anyone else who’s interested) – here’s a recipe for an all-purpose cleaner courtesy of Women’s Voices for the Earth:

    All-Purpose Cleaner
    suggested uses: hard surfaces like countertops and kitchen floors, windows and mirrors

    2 cups white distilled vinegar
    2 cups water
    20-30 or more drops of essential oil (optional)

    Tip: Warming in microwave until barely hot will boost cleaning power for tough jobs. Only microwave in a glass container.

    their website has recipes for a bunch of other household cleaning types of things, like toilet bowl cleaner, laundry detergent, etc. here’s the link:

    http://www.womenandenvironment.org/campaignsandprograms/SafeCleaning/recipes/document_view

    for tough stains, they don’t work as well as the stuff you’d buy from a supermarket or whatever, but that just means you need to put more elbow grease into it. so, not only are you being nicer to the environment, but you’re getting a workout too. lol. 😉

  20. skahahoo Says:

    by the way…when they say “essential oil” they mean something like lavender oil, or peppermint oil, or vanilla oil,…you get the idea. there are all kinds of “flavors.” supermarkets and drugstores generally don’t carry them…usually you have to go to an organic place or one of those health food stores. the oils aren’t necessary for cleaning power…they’re meant to counteract the smell of the vinegar, which a lot of people find unpleasant. but you don’t need the oil to do the actual cleaning.

  21. Jennifer Says:

    Thanks skahahoo I’m going to go and check out the website. =)

Leave a Reply

