Strike a Pose!

I went on a weekend trip to Seattle with a dear friend of mine. We went down bright and early Saturday morning and came back near midnight on Sunday night. Mostly we visited some friends of ours, poked around the city and got lost… a lot. I really began to understand the effects of my food choices while I was there, though.

In previous road trips, It’s always been the standard to stop at a McDonalds or Burger King and grab a yummy breakfast sandwich (or two) and go, flying down the road sipping a 16 ounce diet pop (because that always made it okay) and stuffing my face with biscuits, sausage, cheese, egg, and grease while simultaneously jamming out to my favorite road trip music (usually Dixie Chicks).

That was not the case this time. It was weird stopping at actual cafes and restaurants rather than doing the quick thing. Due to the fact that I was on my trip, I was even tempted a few times to order foods that were really not going to get me to my final goal. One meal, we stopped at this amazing little restaurant in Freemont and the chef made us a special lunch since the lunch we wanted wasn’t available (what restaurant runs out of greens?). Along with the roasted veggies, he decorated the plate with toast. I found myself really tempted to eat the bread presented before me.Ā  This feeling was somewhat due to the fact that the chef went way out of his way to make sure we had a nice meal. The other part of me was simply salivating for this yummy thing. I was able to overcome my desire by reminding myself that bread isn’t going to get me towards my final goal right now. Admittedly, the conversation that followed with the two people I was dining with about making healthy choices also encouraged me to stay on the path. Had I not stayed on the path, I don’t think it would have been a big deal… it would have just taken me longer to reach my final goal weight for the week… which I have been at now since Sunday.

Anyway! I guess the whole point of that is to say that I’ve always thought that staying on a health-plan while traveling was hard. Now that I’ve experienced it, the hardest part was reminding myself that that simply isn’t true.

On another similar-but-not topic, a good friend of mine gave me a brilliant idea the other day to make a list of all of the things I would like to be able to do, then cross them off over time as I become able to do them. I think that seems like a neat exercise and yet another awesome way to measure the efforts I’m putting into this. Plus! It’s fun! So here’s my list as of now (I may add to it later):

  • Cross my legs woman-style
  • Do Eagle position arms in yoga
  • Do Eagle position legs in yoga
  • Do Dancer position in yoga
  • Do a backbend in yoga
  • Run for more than a block length
  • Hug my knees
  • Fit in an airplane seat without as much trouble
  • Hide behind a regular sized tree
  • Power walk
  • Sleep all the way though the night without sleep apnea
  • Have improved posture
  • Wear small delicate necklaces and it doesn’t look like a choker
  • Wear dangle earrings without them scraping my shoulders
  • Sleep comfortably in a twin-size bed
  • To be able to be hugged around my waist… all the way

These are going to be fun to cross off! I’ve been looking forward to a few of them for a while now and can sense that I’m getting close!

Ciao for now! Love you peoples!
xo
Tabby

Tags: ,

13 Responses to “Strike a Pose!”

  1. Denise Says:

    The list thing is a good idea, I wish you luck Tabby šŸ˜‰

  2. Lydia Says:

    That list is a really good idea Tabby. Good luck.

    And, I’ll think about this entry, it will help me keep me in line whenever I’ll be ordering food during my holiday in Vancouver.:-)

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Good luck Tabby with your list. =)

  4. Ver0nik21 Says:

    Good luck Tabby!!

    That’s actually a great idea!

    Congrats! I ‘ll do something like taht! šŸ˜‰

    @ Tabby
    That friend of yours was Allison Mack, right??

  5. Jane Says:

    Goof luck Tabby! You’re doing great šŸ™‚

  6. Jane Says:

    Good*

  7. Anonymous Says:

    Slightly off topic, but, I feel there’s a serious abscence of Kendra on this blog. šŸ˜¦ Will Kendra be joining in on this blog any time? šŸ™‚

  8. Denise Says:

    @ Tabby
    Im not sure what your exercise plan is but i know thats most important in a diet, so..

    If you are on the road, or have a really really busy day and can’t get any exercise time in, try and do it before bed when you have nothing to do, try a few sit ups and *girl* pushups,stretch,jog in place.That always helps me, or even right when you wake up in the morning. Just like 10 minutes, its better then nothing. Also a grapefruit before bed is good because the acid in it burns the fats and sugars, so while your sleeping they dont turn into fats in your body.

    Good Luck šŸ™‚

  9. Ver0nik21 Says:

    @ Anonymous

    You are very right! Where is Kendra??

    Does anyody know? maybe she doesn’t like blogging or she is too busy must be that!

    Well, keep it up Tabby!

    xoxoxoxo

  10. Maxima Says:

    Tabby,
    you’re going to get so many rewards later on by trying to do the right thing now.
    Best of luck.

  11. April Says:

    Tabby, You are so incredibly encouraging and I absolutely love you and the goals you have set. You have given me some great idea’s in my journey to live a healthier lifestyle. I love the list of goals and I think that I will create some of my own and adopt some of yours too! šŸ™‚ Know that we are cheering for you and love you for who you are…which is a beautiful! I can’t wait to see you reach your desires. Enjoy the journey. -Sunny Florida

  12. Gina Says:

    It’s tempting, I know! But after learning the secrets about McDonald’s, I don’t think I’ll eat there for a while! šŸ˜¦

    Keep it going!

  13. Kelly Says:

    Ooh, the list is a good idea! Good luck, Tabby!

Leave a Reply

