Writing Assignment: Before

Write what happened just before the photograph, below, was taken.

Tabby’s Entry:

hop hop hop went the frog through the bushes
she laughed in delight as it croaked its delectable goodbye.

Featured Guest Writers


Allison Mack’s Entry:

the fingernails sharplike razors held tighlyt to their newly romanced, entranced cotton counter part
she enchants the woods the way a charmer mesmerizes his diamond studded live scarf that speaks in two directions at once.
her reckless mound of joyous exploration intoxicates every leaf, cell of moss, atom of air until the universe can do nothing but hold onto
her beauty
her exuberance
her charm
don’t go!
don’t enter the brutality of the coarse natural form of relationships
don’t step out of the bush
i can hold you here
shelter your curiosity so your questions will remain eternally incomplete
you laugh
a joke
naivete
innocence
is lost

Ariella’s Entry:

The tall grass trees in the field that line the forest behind your house are enough to hold you for hours. You are still
young enough to be part of these woods: your legs run
with blood and warm, thick summer air is alive with singing bugs.
You hear a sound you know to be not this forest.
You turn, catch your skirt. Catch yourself
before you slip in front of him.
Smile and curtsy.

If you giggle it off, Mother
will be pleased with the photo.

Tags: , , , , ,

16 Responses to “Writing Assignment: Before”

  1. Gina Says:

    innocence
    soft trees blow
    in the wind

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Very nice Allison&Ariella.I was wondering if Allison would come and leave an entry. =)

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Sorry I forgot to say nice post Tabby.

  4. Maxima Says:

    …I was looking forward to our first summer picnic. My girls (my wife and child) were excited and all smile. I had to do a lot of preparation the morning of; I never got the chance to eat breakfast. We left at 8:30am and got to our destination at 2:45pm. I was starving, but I had to get everything ready while my lovely girls played in the meadow. When I got to the food part, I had the bread cut up but I could not find the roll of salami……I had a taste for it, that’s why I brought it in the first place. All of a sudden my wife comes back and tells me that our little girl ran off with the salami hidden under her dress……OoooooH…I was furious!
    “Come back here you…..give me back my salami!” I shouted.

  5. skahahoo Says:

    At long last
    I emerge
    transformed
    and there awaits
    a nymph still moist
    with morning dew.

    I stretch
    twin tapestries
    twice
    thrice
    and fly
    lifted by laughter
    which chases after
    as I flit and flutter
    through these dappled woods.

    Were I able
    to prolong our dance
    I would dear child
    but the verdant earth beckons
    and ’tis my duty
    to heed her call.

    Farewell fair friend
    may you be greeted
    as well with such
    soaring spirits
    when dawn breaks golden
    beholden to your light
    as you too will be
    transformed.

  6. skahahoo Says:

    @Tabby and Gina – Short and sweet! I like! πŸ™‚

    @Allison – I like the rhythm of “romanced, entranced cotton counter part she enchants” and the phrase “atom of air.” I also like the whole charmer analogy.

    @Ariella – Just overall, it’s a really sweet scene. One of those Kodak moments. πŸ™‚

    @Maxima – Your poems crack me up…”salami”…lol. πŸ˜€

  7. Gina Says:

    @skahahoo

    Aww, thank you! I was trying something new, a haiku if you will. =)

    I think you write very well, I wish I had your skills!

  8. Emma Says:

    “Sending this one to Grandma, Lilly!”
    My mothers’s gentle voice masked by the breezy wind… the velvet pinafore itches my skin, wiggle wiggle..seeking a comfortable position to give Grandma a reason to smile at this photo .. “Ready!”…zoom, click, flash!

  9. kelsey Says:

    I hid it.

    I hid it in the woods.

    You won’t find it.

    Only I know.

  10. bandaid Says:

    The little girl emerged from the bushes in giggly triumph having conquered her fear of peeing in the weeds. She hoped she would not have a poison ivy rash as her only reminder of the experience.

  11. skahahoo Says:

    @Gina – Dude! You wrote a SQUARE haiku! 3 lines, 3 beats per line! Yeah! πŸ™‚

    @Emma – Lookit Emma! Workin’ in past prompts with the “pinafore”! Woot woot! πŸ˜€ Also liked the “wiggle wiggle”…nice detail, totally appropriate. I like endearing little details like that. πŸ™‚

    @kelsey – Yours is great because it totally captures the mischievous quality of the girl in the photo. Nice!

    @bandaid – Yours is hysterical…lol. Great idea! And what’s funnier is that since you brought it up, it totally DOES look like the type of place you would pee. TOTALLY! πŸ˜€

  12. skahahoo Says:

    @Gina – I forgot to say thank you. πŸ™‚ But honestly? There are probably about 150,000 things you can do that I wish I could do. You younguns these days are friggin’ amazing. No joke. πŸ™‚

  13. skahahoo Says:

    @Gina – Dude! I followed your link. I rest my case. In fact, no….make that 150,000 and one things you can do that I wish I could do. That wolf picture?? Is that a photo that you worked on? Skillz! πŸ™‚

  14. G Says:

    Ewwww, I touched a worm!!!! *runs*

  15. Maric Says:

    Miss Mary Mac, Mac, Mac, all dressed in black, black, black,
    with silver buttons, buttons, buttons, all down her back, back, back, she asked her mother, mother, mother for fifty cents, cents, cents, to see the elephants, elephants, elephants, jump over the fence, fence, fence, they jumped so high, high, high,
    they touched the sky, sky, sky, and they didn’t come back, back,
    back, til the fourth of July July July. She sang and skipped gleefully to her grandmothers house…

  16. -LΓ©Na- Says:

    – So innocent she played at hiding place in bushes, when she heard the voice of her liked father who called her In a sweet voice and defender. She went out of the bush, made a fond smile which shows us all the enjoyment of this spring day – β™₯

Leave a Reply

