Health Journey Check-in

Hi Everyone! Long time no chat! I think it’s been over two weeks since I last reported in. I have no real news about my measured weight loss because I haven’t measured myself since before I left for comic con, but I did have a recent experience that I wanted to share with you all! “What is that, my dear Tabby?” I hear some of you asking.

CRAVINGS!!

YAY!

Okay so, when trying to uphold the value of maintaining a healthy body (i.e. what some might call “diet and exercise”) sometimes there’s those days when nothing seems to penetrate the constant thought-bubble popping up over your head with the cute little chocolate bar and whole-milk latte and gelato and … whatever else you might want to fit in it. Thankfully, for myself, I’ve never really been the kind of person who craves sweet things. Although when I do, LOOK OUT!! That was the old Tabby, at least.

Most of my friends crave chocolate. The other day I was not feeling up to par and a friend of mine said, “*I* know what will make you feel better! I JUST made some delicious raw chocolates. Here… try one.” I kinda laughed inside because chocolate isn’t my button, but it DID happen to be heavenly delicious and incredibly healthy made with nuts and raw cacao and raw coconut shavings. MMMMmmm!

No, I don’t crave chocolates. I crave salty things or crunchy things. Pre-Healthy Tabby would go and buy a bag of doritos in order to fulfill those cravings. Post-Healthy Tabby would ordinarily ignore those cravings. This weekend, however, I didn’t feel much for ignoring them. I was craving… SALSA. It’s not uncommon for me to crave salsa because of the jalapenos in them (<3) and the bell peppers (<3 <3) but usually I resist and go on my way, ignoring it.

Not this time, baby! I called up my mother. This is how our conversation went:

Me: Mom? Can you find that salsa recipe you used to make for us when we were little?
Mom: Sure, here it is…
Me: Whoa! How’d you find it so fast!?
Mom: Well, when my daughter was very little she used to be really organized. And she wrote this recipe down in this neat little book as soon as we got the recipe from her grandmother!
Me: I used to be organized? Cool!
Mom: (after she reads the recipe to me): And do you want to know what the very last line says?
Me: Sure!
Mom: "This recipe is best with Chips. Enjoy!!" My daughter sure was a cute one!
Me: HAHA, yeah she was! Although I’m not sure why you’re referring to me in the third person?!
Mom: Because it’s making you laugh!

So true! I was laughing! Anyway, there really was no point in sharing the conversation with you except to show that the recipe that I am about to share with you all is a family recipe straight from Texas and is VERY DELICIOUS!!!! Please make it and let me know how you like it! I made some last night and enjoyed it to BITS! Also if you want to make adjustments share them with us and I’ll try it out as well!

Tabby’s Family Salsa Recipe
Ingredients:
1 15oz can of tomato sauce
1 28 oz can of whole tomatoes
2 medium bell peppers chopped
1 large onion, chopped
2 large fresh tomatos, chopped
2 cloves of garlic (finely chopped)
1 tablespoon of fresh cilantro
1 teaspoon of chili powder
8 fresh jalapenos (use more for spicy salsa!)
1 tablespoon of cayenne
1 tablespoon of seasoning salt
1/2 cup of water
3 tablespoons of white vinegar

Directions:
1) Chop all of the veggies if they are not chopped. Chop the fresh tomatos into desired bite-sizes for the final salsa.
2) Cut the jalapenos into halves and place in small sauce pan or frying pan with water, garlic, and vinegar. Simmer until the peppers lose their shine (approximately 5 minutes)
3) Strain the water and vinegar from the peppers and garlic
4) Combine all ingredients except for half of the onion and the fresh tomatoes into a large blender and blend until it is saucy (but still kinda chunky – this should only be for a few seconds).
5) Combine blended sauce, tomatoes and the rest of the chopped onion into a large sauce pan and simmer for 45 minutes to lock in flavor.

This recipe will make 2 large mason jars or 4 to 6 smaller jars.

This recipe is best with Chips. Enjoy!!

xo
Tabby (and my mom, and my dearly departed grandmother)

Tags: , , , , ,

18 Responses to “Health Journey Check-in”

  1. Denise Says:

    Yumm 🙂 i think ill have to try that recipe.

  2. Emma Says:

    @Tabby – thanks for that recipe, must try it! except I wanted to ask you if there was a way to make the salsa quite mild, not too hot?? I’m terrible with hot food.. hehe I’m a softy 😛

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Yummy!!! I have got to make your salsa sometime. After reading this blog now I’m craving chocolate and salsa with a big bag of tostitos and it’s only 9:30 a.m. 🙂

  4. Marilyne Says:

    Aw….cravings…I couldn’t resist either last night…damn it! :p Yum….salsa…if it’s straight from Texas…I guess it’s pretty hot…I couldn’t stand the mild + at The Noodle Box…yeah, I’m a beginner, right? 😛

  5. Tabby Says:

    This is a pretty mild recipe. At least… for me. I’d use less jalapenos for a milder flavor.

  6. Anna Says:

    Tabby, try adding a 1/4 tsp of curry powder and a 1/4 tsp of worcestershire sauce – it makes salsas have more zip! ….thanks for the recipe! p.s. salsa does not seem like an unhealthy craving (in the grand scheme of things)! 🙂

  7. gaL Says:

    your mom is adorable!! hahaha.. omg.. i have almost the same recipe .. but mine doesnt have the cayenne.. i knew there wasnt that much kick!
    i found the missing link … thanks for sharing ..

    much love.

    p/s its cocoa ..=b cacao if im not mistaken is a bird haha

  8. Tabby Says:

    It actually is cacao! Check out wikipedia!

  9. Kristin Says:

    wikipedia isn’t the most reliable source plus i think we should share more recipes not just salsa anything that is a family recipe! That would be awesome! I love homemade food my family has the best rolled tacos and homemade ice cream recipes!!!

  10. Marilyne Says:

    @ Kristin (Kristin, Kristin? :P) Yay! More recipes! Home made, they’re the best! Yummy!

  11. Emma Says:

    Noted! Thanks again Tabby x

  12. Gina Says:

    LOL, that’s awesome! I don’t crave sweet things either. I crave fruit sometimes (which is weird, lol).

    Nice recipe! Sounds delicious.

    @Marilyne:
    There are 2 Kristins here I think!!

  13. Kristin Says:

    yeah there are I m not Smallville Kristin actually to be honest that is one of the reasons that i started watching smallville is because Kristin spells her name correctly and now I am hooked : ) any way more recipes would be awesome if you guys want me to start it I will put the rolled taco recipe on here to go with the salsa : )!

    Rolled tacos:

    corn tortillas (36 in a pack but will very on how many you want to make)
    canned roast beef with gravy (I suggest 3 most of the time thats what you run out of first)
    Kraft Bagged Mexican Four Flavor Cheeses ( 1 bag or 2)
    Corn Oil

    First start heating the beef on the stove and since the canned beef is already cooked all you are doing is heating it up. While the beef is heating put enough Corn Oil in a frying pan and heat it up until it starts bubbling, then what you are going to do is dip the corn tortillas in the corn oil and make sure both sides get wet, this is for the flexibility of the tortillas (this takes the longest time). Then put the ingredients the oiled tortillas, the heated beef, and the cheese out in a place where you have some space since now you are going to start rolling them! Also have out a few oven safe pans out for after you roll them to place them in right away! First you take a tortilla and put some beef (use sparingly again first thing you will run out of), then add the cheese (if you only have one bag use sparingly also), and place in the oven friendly pan. Then set your oven to broil on Hi. And put the tacos in until they turn golden brown! And enjoy!

    So this is the best rolled taco recipe ever! Everyone who has it always asks me to make some more! I suggest also making a lot they are very good the second day but, most importantly people normally eat 5 to 9 tacos each! Also there is salsa that you put on but that is just tomato paste, green onions, and whatever salsa you want (normally we use mild), it best to put the salsa on when you roll it so that way it gets broiled into the meat! Lastly you can use chicken but my family loves beef so we don’t really have chicken ones! But same recipe for both!

    Also any one that tries this tell me what you guys think on here!

  14. Lesley Says:

    glad all is well! thanks for the recipe! when i make it ill post a link to the photo! now i want salsa and chips!

  15. jamie19 Says:

    I LOVE chocolate 🙂

  16. Danny the only bloke Says:

    Texas?????

    I always thought you were a vancouvanadian person like Kristin and (I assume) Kendra Tabster?

    Danny

  17. Tabby Says:

    vancouvanadian was the hardest thing I’ve read in so long! Nope, I am born a Texan! 😀 Learn something new every day! I even used to have an accent!

  18. Kristin Says:

    nice my friend says i sound like an old school texan when i say howdy you all

Leave a Reply

