The Story of Extra Little

I cant believe 27 weeks have gone by since finding out about extra little while in Thailand with Kristin. Has it REALLY been that long since we were gallivanting the streets of Bangkok, eating fabulous food, taking in the culture and learning everything we could about the teens while Kristin was learning to Kung Fu Fight?

I swore at the time that all the pregnancy symptoms I was feeling was due to the arrival of my period, not the arrival of extra little. I was feeling a bit tired, my boobs were swollen and a bit sore, I was retaining water, but that seemed normal due to the heat. AND… I could literally smell everything! I mean everything! But in Bangkok their are such a plethora of strong smells that my new super smelling ability didn’t seem that odd. What really got me wondering is when I randomly started to fall asleep in the strangest places as I generally I don’t sleep that much. And suddenly every time I jumped into a Thai Cab I would pass out cold into a deep, deep drooling sleep hmmmm…I thought that was a little odd.

While running around the city I had a “girly” back-up in my purse at all times in case my period was gonna make an appearance, but NOPE Ms. Red was a no show. Could I be PREGNANT!? It was possible! Periods and Babies were all I could think and talk about for days and finally Kristin was like…”well, there is only one way to find out” K marched my butt down to the closest Thai Pharmacy, which was just across the street from where we were staying. Pharmacies in Thailand are not what we are used to in North America. This one was very small, tucked away on the street behind a sliding glass door, it’s considered polite to take your shoes off before entering.

Ok…so shoes are off…my heart is pounding and ummmm there is a small problem… we don’t speak Thai and the lady behind the counter doesn’t speak English. Kristin and I break out into charades trying to communicate what we are looking for. The warm laugh and smile from the lady on the other side of the counter makes us laugh and I began to feel a little more relaxed. She finally caught on, she was happy and clapping as she brought out a little pink box with a baby on it…yup! That’s what we were looking for…I will admit at this point I was feeling very overwhelmed; I was nervous, excited and afraid all at the same time. This could be really BIG NEWS! Really BIG NEWS! This could be LIFE CHANGING NEWS! This was never how I really pictured this moment in my head…I always pictured being with my husband during a moment like this but he was on the other side of the world, and I wasn’t flying out of Bangkok for another 2 weeks! But if I was pregnant it was important to know as the first few months are sensitive and critical (so I had heard).

Kristin looked over and probably sensed my emotion and very compassionately was like “lets go find out”….oooookkkaaaayyy! The next small challenge was that, the cute little pink box with the baby on it, was written mostly in Thai…so I kinda had to wing it…Pee on the stick, how hard could that be, right? WRONG! its what happens after you pee on the stick…there is this little box with two lines and of course we don’t know what they mean…one line means yes or no? two lines mean yes or no? And what does it mean if one line is darker then the other line??…OOOOOOOHHHHH I don’t know! I run out of the bathroom and am like OMG what does this mean? We have a dark line and faint line…K is like “I don’t know”…what do we do? ohhhh god the suspense was killing us.

First we check the ever-handy Google and then, having no definitive solution we run my little pee stick over to the Thai lady across the street at the pharmacy and start the game of charades again. As I am waving my pee stick in the air, I am like thumbs up, means yes?! thumbs down means no!? and a wavering hand means maybe!? WHAT IS THIS LITTLE PINK PEE STICK TELLING ME!!!!!!???? The lady laughs, and looks at me, starts clapping and says YES!….MAYBE!…AGAIN! AGAIN! and puts another pink box in my hand. That’s when it hit me…I knew it…I was going to be a mommy. I cant describe the emotions, I was scared, excited, in awe and amazement, but also felt sad that I wasn’t with Terry in that moment….but having Kristin with me was a gift, as she is always calm, loving and supportive, I tend to feel very peaceful in her presence.

Wow…I am going to be a mom! I don’t think this is a feeling anyone can describe until they experience it first hand. So I was 2 weeks out from heading home to Terry. Terry, Kernie (the dog) and I all talked face to face on Skype every morning…how was I going to keep this a secret?! But I decided that this NEWS needed to be delivered in person. There was no way I was going to share this via cyber-space.

So I bought two wee little baby booties hopped on a plane two weeks later and headed home to my family. I was soooo excited and soo full of joy I cried as WE landed in Vancouver. Literally I am no longer ME I am a WE. We walked off the plan and were meet by Terry and Kernie full of love and excitement to see us…5 weeks seemed like a life time, especially when you have such big news to share. The whole car ride home I was full of smiles and joyful tears. Terry must have thought I was a wee bit crazy.

So we get home… I demand Terry close his eyes and sit on the couch as I have a surprise from Thailand for him…awww I always get weepy telling this part of the story. He sits there with his eyes closed with a cute smile on his face that I just want to smoother with kisses, as I place the two small booties in each of his hands. I slowly tell him to open his eyes…he looks at the booties, and then up at me with big tears in his eyes. I start to cry, its been sooo hard to keep this from him for two weeks, it felt like a life time. I say “you are gonna be a daddy”….this moment is one I will never forget, the look on Terry’s face was sooo full of love, and excitement…there didn’t seem to be an ounce of fear.

And that my friends is the story of how Extra Little came into our lives!

xo
Kendra

Tags: , , ,

31 Responses to “The Story of Extra Little”

  1. Chris Says:

    Kendra I am so happy for you!

    I find your experience in Thailand to be a very beautiful one. You must share a great friendship with Kristin. He/She is going to come into a world of love. That’s for sure πŸ˜‰

  2. skahahoo Says:

    This. Story. Is. AWESOME! πŸ˜€

  3. Binks Says:

    AWWW. OMG Kendra. haha that story is adorable. πŸ˜€ What a day that must have been in Thai half a world away from your hubby and doing charades to get an answer LOL, Extra Little hehe cute. Iono how many times I’ve said this, but I’m so very happy for you, dude.

    My mom still has her pee stick…it’s kinda…weird and gross O_O but hey at least if you lose one u got another one. πŸ˜›

    Thanks for sharing that story with us Kendra. πŸ™‚

  4. Kathleen Says:

    wow what an adventure! it must have been the most exciting/fustrating game of charades you’ve ever played huh lol great story to tell the little one someday

  5. Lydia Says:

    Oh wow! I’ve actually got tears in my eyes. There’s so much love. I’m happy for you.
    Thank you for sharing this with us.

  6. Emma Says:

    Kendra! That’s a beautiful story! ahhh I love the way you describe the confusion, language barrier and finally… the excitement. So sweet! Your hubby sounds very excited to be a Daddy!!
    xx

  7. Denise Says:

    aww that actually made me cry at the end… im so happy for you even though i dont know you hahaha……weird.

  8. lesley Says:

    aww this is one of the best stories i have ever heard in so long! im in awwww, smiles, and am very happy for you! i say kristin is the best for being there for you! what a great friend!awwww!kristin should be the God MOM! woo hooo! =)

  9. Jo Says:

    OMG! I’m at work reading this and I’m almost crying. So Sweet. I’m so happy for you guys!!

  10. Jennifer Says:

    That was a beautiful story Kendra thanks for sharing. I’m so happy for you. I wonder if you know if it’s going to be a boy or the next member of GBD? Hmm…. =)

  11. Gina Says:

    Awww!! What an awesome story! Must be both exciting and scary at the same time! I can’t wait to have kids, but then again, I’d rather wait! I’m a bit too young at the moment lol.

    Whoo hoo! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  12. Marilyne Says:

    OMG!!! Thanks for sharing this extraordinary story with us! I kinda cried too ❀ :p
    aw..I’m so happy for you guys! and faster than a speeding bullet (hehe) extra little will have a cute cute little face and a name πŸ˜€

    YAY ! that’s all I have to say! take care of yoursELVES! ;P

    xoxo

  13. Cristina Says:

    I was willing to read your pregnancy symptoms experience. They were REALLY SPECIAL πŸ˜€

    I swear I was excited reading the story (IΒ΄ve cried!! :P). I havenΒ΄t felt this BEAUTIFUL feeling a long time ago. IΒ΄ve wished for a moment to be there. You teleport me to Thailand, to that pharmacy and to your vancouver arrival. Really lovely ^^

    Sooo… thank so much for sharing, Kendra. I imagine youΒ΄re a “box of feelings” right now. Booties?? Awww, so cuteee n_n

  14. LI Says:

    Beautiful πŸ™‚
    Good luck .

  15. Marie Says:

    Thanks for sharing this story and this special moment in your life with us…

    God Bless your family πŸ™‚

  16. Ashley Says:

    Hahaha what an experience it was for you’s to just find out.

    Sweet story.
    Congrats again.

  17. Ver0nik21 Says:

    Thanx for sharing!!! really a great story!! sweet! really emocional!

    wish you the best!!! for you and extra little!

    xoxoxoxo

  18. louiji Says:

    That’s a funny story on how you found out about your baby. It was good that you had your friend with you during that time.. hehehe… Anyway congrats!!

  19. Jane Says:

    Awww! that was beautilful! Haha! I love the name you give your baby “Extra Little” πŸ˜€ I wish you all the best of luck!

  20. Linden Says:

    Omg. That could quite possibly be the cutest story I have ever heard!!
    Your extra little will love hearing it when he/she is older!
    Glad things are going well with the pregnancy!

  21. F Says:

    This story reminded me of Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason !

  22. Frida Says:

    hahah, I feel ya! Thai people say yes to any and all your questions xD

    That’s a really nice story πŸ™‚ Best of luck with Extra Little.

  23. Frida Says:

    any and all of your questions*

  24. *dacara* Says:

    Kendra that was such a wonderful story of how you found out about extra little. That’s a cute little name you thought of. I like it:). I can’t believe everything you had to go through just to find out whether you were pregnant or not. You had to play charades just to get the pregnancy test and to find out what the two pink lines meant. I could imagine both of you dong that . .lol. The ending was very sweet. I’m so happy for both you and your hubby. I hope everything is going well with extra little.

  25. Kalie Says:

    That is sooo precious. (: I want to see pictures of this wittle baby when it comes out. Thanks for sharing. It was a touching story.

  26. MoMo Says:

    I’m sooooo happy for you!

  27. suzieQB Says:

    One of the sweetest baby stories I have ever heard. Thanks for sharing your joy! Best wishes to you husband Terry too!

  28. Sarah Says:

    Wow! What an awesome story. I can tell you that with all the talk about woman’s careers and doing something outside of the home, all of that will change when you have your baby. You can’t fight nature and I’ll bet you’ll wonder to yourself what took so long to have a child if there was nothing holding you back before except apprehension or financial reasons. Good luck and the best of health to the baby!

  29. G Says:

    You’ve probably heard this like 600 times already, but congrats to you and your husband on the baby and to Kernie. He’s going to be a big brother! I hope that stick wasn’t still a little wet when you were waving it around lol.

  30. Hammad Says:

    What a beautiful story, Kendra. I don’t have any parental experience, but I have gone through many babies. Um yeah, that sounds a little weird. But seriously, starting with my baby brother who’s many years my junior, ending with the many children (my cousins) of my uncles and aunts who came to live with my immediate family from overseas, and probably beginning again with my brother in the next few years, I’ve had my share of “baby” experience outside of being a parent. I can tell you, that although it is quite difficult, there are few experiences as rewarding as watching your baby (in my case, mostly my baby brother), say his first words, or crawl and walk for the first time. IMO, the time from age one until three are the most adorable, so get your video and digital cameras ready for long term usage! Anyways, congratulations again and the best of health to the soon to be new addition to your family.

  31. Kailin Says:

    Hi Kendra,

    I am so happy for you! I felt the same way when I found out I was going to become a mommy. I just knew I was pregnant before I even fumbled with the pee stick. You described it so well…the heighten senses…the you just know feeling. Anyways, my husband reacted the same way, and I was in a state of “wow” this is the moment I just had waited for all my life (despite my having been a career woman all my life). Becoming a mommy and having a life grow inside of you is such a powerful affirmation of being a woman. Women are strong, yet nurturing. Tough, yet loving. We are the bearer and the life-givers. Having been through pregnancy and child-birth, and now being a career woman/mother, I can only say you have an amazing journey ahead that will be both beautiful and challenging. With a child, you will discover an unfathomable love, unlike any relationship you have experienced yet. It is hard to explain, but you will know. So happy to hear your news for you and your husband. Having a close friend like Kristin there to share it with you so far away from your husband is what memories and good stories for your child is made of. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful and personal news.

Leave a Reply

