Movie Madness Mondays: Mean Girls

Mean Girls

“Women would rule the world if they didn’t hate each other” – Chris Rock

Be it the truth or not, that’s exactly how Mean Girls plays out; and that’s what Cady Heron (Lindsay Lohan) learns when her family relocates from Africa to the United States. She now has to learn a whole new set of rules in order to survive high school. How to behave, how to dress, how to diminish her own body in front of a mirror. Who would’ve thought there could be so many flaws with someone, and what’s even more intriguing: that her own negative self image would help her fit in. Now why do we find that it’s better to look down on ourselves rather than focus on the positive?

I haven’t read “Queen Bees and Wannabes” yet, but Tina Fey (who plays quirky teacher Ms. Norbury) did a marvelous job with turning the source material into a screenplay. And of course, where Tina Fey writes, hilarity ensues. Great one-liners strung together will keep you laughing throughout the entire movie. Smart, socially aware satire will make issues that are important to the everyday teenage girl, flow smoothly.

The movie just doesn’t focus on Cady and her own personal issues though; Mean Girls also focuses on a variety of other social issues such as lunch table drama: where to sit, and who to sit with. “Should I pretend to be dumb in order to get a boy to like me? Should I pretend to be someone I’m not so I can fit in?” And that’s exactly what Cady does. It begins as a scheme so she could learn what goes on in the lives of the most popular girls in school, but soon she loses herself and no longer knows where Cady begins and “Plastic” Cady ends. Caught up in lies, and a whole new persona she doesn’t know when to stop. And she doesn’t, until it all backfires.

When everybody learns about Cady’s lies and all of the mean things that were said about every single girl in school, all hell breaks loose. They are forced to face not only who they are, but who they’ve been towards other girls, and as Cady concluded (and I’m paraphrasing here): “calling a girl fat won’t make me any skinnier”.

Mean Girls is a story about a teenager trying to navigate through high school but at the same time, trying to retain a bit of who she is. But the moral is something that all of us can take, at any age: be true to yourself, and try not to step on anybody on your way there πŸ˜‰

xxx~Mari

PS. next week’s movie will be selected and written about by the first person to post and say they want to (as long as it’s not r rated!)!!

Next week’s movie will be “Stepmom” and it will be reviewed by Alicia!

Tags:

20 Responses to “Movie Madness Mondays: Mean Girls”

  1. Lola Says:

    hello ladies!
    I’m Lolita, 19 years old, and I would like to review The Silence of the Lambs, a movie that has inspired me over time.. It’s the story of an FBI trainee – Clarice Starling – who chases a serial killer and is helped by another serial killer – Hannibal Lecter, played by Anthony hopkins – to uncover that mystery. In the process, she will learn about herself an the world she lives in!
    Bye girls and go on with the website, it’s very inspiring! =)
    Love, lola

  2. nena Says:

    i think ‘Erin Brokovich’ would be a good movie to review. its about a women who does not have school smarts but uses her own smarts and determination to bring a cooperation polluting water down.
    there is a scene in the movie where a local women who has been affected by the polluted water has had to have her breasts and uterus removed.
    she says ‘can i still be called a women’ i thought this was a powerful question as it addresses issues from cancer paitent who similalarly had to go through this trauma and also to people who feel they were born in the wrong body. What do you think?

  3. Marilyne Says:

    Damn it, I’m the second person to post! πŸ˜›
    But still, I think it’s great that posters get involved on this site and can give and share a part of themselves with the World! πŸ˜€

  4. Alicia Says:

    Great review Mari! This is a hilarious movie that I will never get sick of.

    I have a suggestion; Stepmom?

  5. Lesley Says:

    hahah i have this movie and i love it. I have a recommendation to watch in theatres tomorrow even though i haven’t seen it lol….”Ballet Shoes,” which is set in 1930s London and tells the exhilarating tale of three orphan girls who were adopted and raised as sisters by their guardian. The uplifting story revolves around each girl’s struggle to fulfill her dreams–Pauline wants to be an actress, Petrova desires to be an aviator, and Posy seems destined to be a ballerina. As money becomes tight, each girl struggles to balance personal ambition with the need to survive physically and emotionally.

  6. Emma Says:

    Excellent review Marianne! Tres bien! So accurate most of what you summarised, and how funny is Chris Rock’s ironic truth!
    I can recognise every single one of those terrifying aspects of being a teenage girl, even though I’m well into my 20s now.
    It’s such a scary place to be in when you’re trying to fit in, trying to figure out guys and trying to avoid being teased by the ‘popularity hungry’ groups!
    Looking back on my teen years, there are a couple of changes I would have made if I could, but I’m greatful I had those experiences because it’s made me wiser and more in-tuned to people πŸ˜‰ x

  7. Frida Says:

    I can honestly not relate to the group kind of thing. In my school it’s definetely not like that..the crowd is really mixed and even though Mean Girls is dealing with fitting in issues it does so in a very unrealistic way.

    But it’s an enjoyable movie. I like it πŸ™‚

  8. Sarynelli Says:

    WOO! Stepmom is one of my favorite movies. I remember as a kid, all my friends would make fun of me for liking it haha. Can’t wait till next week!

  9. Prad Robert Says:

    hey , this movie ( Stepmom ) is something special for me , a friend of my brother ( the whole familly was friend of mine) almost lived the same situation when It was on display , so I haven’t watch this movie since this time …

    good luck , prepare your hankies

  10. Hoover Monkeys Says:

    I think this movie is so focused on the negative side of being a teenager and high school struggles. in the long run…clicks, groups or whatever doesn’t really matter in the real world. just being yourself is more appropriate coz it helps you determine your goals and dreams rather than being dictated of things that you want just because those are the things that makes you part of a group.. well, that’s only my opinion anyway!!!

  11. Kendra Says:

    Great Review Mari and Yippi to Alicia, Step Mom is a great choice…I always cry and cry and cry when I see that movie

  12. Ashley Says:

    Great review Mari. And I totally agree with you about Mean Girls. When I was in high school, three months ago I just graduated like we had a big cafeteria where should i sit episode. So in result there was like nowhere to sit so I choose to sit with the like Dorky Asian’s so like the school nicknamed me like the white girl that’s part Asian.

    Yeah its kind of like a rules of the road, but with life. It’s something you have to go by, you have to sit there, you have to hang out with these people in ordered to be well considered normal. That and it all goes back to society and how they picture friendship in the world. Hangout with people you fit in with at the start, so if you’re rich you’d hangout with the rich people, or if you’re a jock you’d hangout with the jocks. It’s just like something every girl goes through to be apart of the popular group.

  13. Jennifer Says:

    Great Marianne =) Omg I love this movie.

  14. Jennifer Says:

    Sorry Marianne forget to say review before your name.

  15. Miranda Says:

    I love this film, one of my faves! Amazing review Marianne, defo agree with the moral of it! πŸ™‚ x

  16. Carol Says:

    I liked this movies. It was good. Do the GBD girls, Kristen, Kendra and Taby like it too? No comment from you girls is weird. I lke to here your thoughts on the movies. Doesn’t seem like you girls watch the movies. Are you too busy? Website is not the same any more. I do not think you girls are even in the same room together or are even in the same place when you write on here. You girls just do your own work from home.

  17. Binks Says:

    Awesome Review dude πŸ˜€

    haha. This movie…this movie is something else. If Tina Fey’s name is attached to it, ya know you’re going to get a good laugh. This movie touches a lot of topics, obviously a bit exaggerated, but the themes are there. I’m lucky my school isn’t anything like this, no one really cares what they look like, everyone is treated the same with no popular crowd or “plastics” ruling our school, except our rival school is a lot like this movie…which…isn’t very nice. O_O

    What I got from this movie was to not compromise myself in order to support and induce an unrealistic image of who I am to other people, even though the entire plot was centered around revenge and the demise of Regina (played by the amazing Rachel McAdams, she awesome! :D) you can see how Cady can’t tell what’s right from wrong, she lost herself in the process and to boot ruined other people’s lives in order to pursue what she thought would make her happy as well as others. She started turning into something she wasn’t, a person she had initially learned to despise.

    The clique theme is also apparent throughout, along with body image. All things we create in the first place. People hang-out with others who they feel they can relate to, who they are the most comfy with, which is completely understandable and natural, but when it starts getting problematic is when one clique is supposedly “better” than others; or a body image which is perfect while all the rest aren’t. How many times did Regina mention she was on a diet? (of course an all carb diet…but still :P) she’s representing a teenager and sadly a lot of teens go through this even though they are perfectly healthy and normal and beautiful in their own way.
    “Gretchen: Growing up female in this world is not easy. In China, baby girls are routinely put up for adoption. And in parts of Africa, women are still made to live in tents during the time of their menses.
    Karen: Ew!
    Gretchen: And even in fancy countries like the United States and England, seven out of ten girls have a negative body image.
    Regina George: Who cares? Six of those girls are right! ”
    Even though you LMAO at Regina, it’s true what Gretchen says. There’s always a problem, and here it’s body image and the way it’s promoted. Mean Girls touches this issue in a funny and ironic way.

    Mean Girls touches a lot of things and hot topics even though you never really notice it cause your laughing too hard to pay attention. πŸ˜› This movie is well-loved and known to all teens for a good reason. =)

    “Janis: There are two kinds of evil people in this world. Those who do evil things and those who see evil things and don’t try to stop it .”

  18. Ver0nik21 Says:

    This movie is no doubt, one great movie. I just watched it, and I laughed so much!
    Tina Fey is such a talented and funny screenwriter. I knew she’d written stuff for SNL before, but this really proved how funny she is. The movie plot is as follows… Cady is new, she’d been home schooled her whole life and lived in Africa. She ends up moving, and goes to an actual high school, befriended the outsiders. By a twist of fate, she meets the Plastics: The three most popular girls in school. They ask her to join them, and when the lead Plastic, Regina, turns against her, Cady does everything in her power to ruin Regina’s life. It’s a catty, funny, absolutely bitchy movie. Rachael McAdams is so good in this, because she makes you hate her, which proves how great she can act. Lindsay Lohan’s acting was excellent too.

    Now to the philosophical part of it: The very same genuineness of the film makes it so hilarious at many points. What prevents us from laughing at the ridiculous social trends, prejudices, and many people’s beliefs, most possibly including ours, in reality is that our actual emotions and thoughts rarely come up to the surface. Even our actions in most situations are covert. Yet, paradoxically, our way of thinking is shaped by society which constitutes of other people who are also as secretive in this sense as we are. And this covert way of feeling and thinking contributes greatly to the growth of prejudice, misunderstanding, and … meanness.

    Revealing a prejudice I hold, I have always believed that the single most important objective of a film is to provide food for thought. That is why I think this teen comedy ranks among the best ones I have seen recently.

    Well have a great day!

    xoxoxo

  19. Maxima Says:

    Superficially this little movie is fun…as you all at GBD already learn about me, I’m very opinionated, and everything Lindsay does is of little interest to me.
    I would like to stray a little from the actual review to touch on a subject that bothers me about quick and meaningless fame. In the “star” industry, weather is movies, TV, sports, music, etc. there are very few individuals that really care about being a role model for their followers and especially kids. I find that it is very important for an idol to set an example for their fans.
    I think that some of them are able to do that, and for that I admire them, but unfortunately most of them fall pray of the instant riches and attention that inevitably screw things up for them and for a whole lot of people that follow their example.
    Especially very young persons that were given fame and money way too soon in their life, it’s very hard for them to cope with that huge overnight success.
    I think that you Kristin are one of the few that while enjoying what you are doing, still maintains a healthy awareness of what’s important in life and are able to balance your sometime high profile lifestyle with your daily existence.
    Of course, this is my perception of you because I really don’t know you personally, but my instinct tells me that you are not about a shallow image…on the contrary, I think you purposely want to make a difference with a desire of accomplishing something that matters.
    Sorry for the long rant……anyway….my movie pick that I think should be reviewed on GBD is “Powder”.
    All the best to you all!

  20. Emma Says:

    Hi,

    I’m from the UK and currently working on my dissertation for my degree. I was really interested in the reviews of Mean Girls as I am loosely basing my essay on one of the key themes from Mean Girls; the patterns of behaviour in women, especially how personal insecurities can take form through criticism or attack on other women. During my research I was shocked to discover that Charlotte Bronte actually criticised the work of Jane Austen. I would have thought she would have been a role model for her, as a female author who had succeeded in a literary world dominated by men. But I feel her criticism of Austen’s novel could have been a much more human reaction; that of rivalry and envy, emotions that us ladies do tend to suffer from. Bronte lived a very tragic life compared to Austen who had a relatively smooth life.

    I really enjoyed Mean Girls, and the way it looked at such a key issue in women.

    P.S. I think this is a great website. I look forward to continue visiting and reading it.

    Emma
    xxx

Leave a Reply

