Let’s Get Together

There is something special when women come together. It is such a comfortable, warm and truly inspiring experience. About 15 ladies got together last night at my place, and it was soooo beautiful. We ate, chatted, avoided stepping on the dog, and really just hung out. A lot of our time was spent introducing each other and sharing why we value and love the ladies we brought with us… There were some tears. Okay, a lot of tears. haha… we are such girls. I love it…

So we had Kendra and her belly, which is having plenty of movement these days. K is such a fabulous lady. She has a drive and determination that is very powerful. She talks a lot about being afraid all the time, which is something I do experience with her, but I also see her taking these great chances. I mean the woman has chosen to have a baby and build this company. At the same time. That is pretty balls.

And Tabby was there as well… I see Tabs as a girl who has gone through a lot of shite and has chosen to create a positive and productive life. She left her life (and kitty) in L.A. and came to Vancouver in like two days…okay slight exaggeration, but still. Tabby has a really lovely girlish energy, combo-ed with an ability to call code “beautiful”.

Allie-mack is one of my dearest friends. She has been an inspiration to me in her ability to be open, and to translate her passions to others in a way that they get passionate too. Allison is so great at bringing people together to create. And her commitment to help others is something that we share. I have so enjoyed spending these years of my life in her presence.

And my dear friend Rose… Who to me is the embodiment of woman. She is a pillar of strength and a force of female-ness. Intelligent, holistic and ultimately compassionate… I see so much of the type of woman I want to be. Rose-y is now a beautiful mother of a seven month old girl, and this seems to have brought out a vulnerability in her that I hadn’t experienced before. She is truly amazing…

These are just a few of the wonderful gals that were present. And I say this because I think that it would be so lovely for all of you to get a group of your girlfriends together, learn about each other, connect, share your experiences… That is essentially what GBD is about: bringing females together. I believe that women have an important perspective to offer the world. Now, this isn’t about the exclusion of men, it’s about the focus on female. With men around I think it is more challenging for girls to just be girls. But the more I embrace my female-ness, the more I can appreciate and love men… and other women for that matter. So, get a few or a lot of your gal friends together, and spend time together with the focus on female-ness. And share your experience with us!!!

Love,

Kristin

Tags: , ,

54 Responses to “Let’s Get Together”

  1. jessica f Says:

    Hey Kristin,
    That sounds pretty fun and awesome. The best times are shared with our closest girl friends. I’m glad you are having so much fun! Thanks for being such a positive influence on society today. 🙂 Tell your puppy I said “hi”!

  2. Lola Says:

    This is so true!
    When we are only girls chatting together, criticizing the people around us, making fun of ourselves, asking each other about human behavior, relationships, this is when we connect and feel more confident.. So that when we get back to our home, with our boyfriend/husband/dog/parents, whatever, we feel happy and good in our skin!

  3. Marianne Says:

    I’m glad you said A LOT of tears cos I totally snorted at the “some” tears comment lol It was really fun and I think more girls should try it. and omg your puppy is the cutest thing, even though he licked the hell out of my tights.

  4. Angela Says:

    Women coming together. Hmmm…interesting concept. Is it just me that finds the dynamics of a lot of female interaction to be positively snarky? So many women I know don’t like being in the company of other women. Back in high school, the girls I knew spoke of random female strangers giving them dirty looks, and once, even pretended “accidentally” bump into one and basically shoved her. There’s a quote that goes along the lines of, ‘if women could get along with each other, they could rule the world…’ Sadly there seems to be so much tension, competition, and backbiting. I’ve seen that since elementary school. I think the movie Mean Girls really touched on something.

  5. Gina Says:

    @Angela

    Yeah, I agree with you. The same happened to me when I was in high school. It was hard because 90% of the girls in my grade were just like the girls from ‘Mean Girls’. No lie. I made like, 3 or 4 girlfriends, that’s it. The other 10% of the girls were druggies, etc. I knew they were people I couldn’t get along with.

    To be honest, I actually ENVY people with a social life. Don’t get me wrong, I like the friends that I have, but most of them are guys and there’s a good reason for that. Like I said above, they’re a lot easier to talk to and we share more things in common than those ‘mean girls’. =P

  6. MarilyneL Says:

    Hi hi!
    Tears tears….aw…we girls love that right?:P Everytime a discussion turns personal and that everyone listens and shares about their life, I mean, it’s so a precious moment, especially with people you love. I did not have a girls-only diner but almost, twice this week. Saturday night, mom’s birthday: brothers, sister, dad, “raclette”, red wine, rosé, and great talk… Last night, 9 hours of class…hockey practice (girl team yay!) then, on an almost impulsive decision “let’s go to Quebec City” (1h30 drive) and suprise our friend Christine for her birthday, we had to start this “22 years old” year of luck the right way! So there again, we chatted about almost anything, and took a walk through the beautiful streets of the 400 years old “Vieux Quebec” Nice! At 2am,you’re all alone in those streets, fresh air, stars in the sky and laughs! We were not 15 though, but 5, but still, that was awesome!

    I experienced a 15 people talk when we were preparing before going to Haiti. We wanted to know more about everyone and we did not quite know each other so we had to recite our lifes. We would spend whole week ends together. I can’t remember another time where I have cried so much! 😛 well, maybe in Auschwitz, but clearly not for the same reasons!

    I think that we unfortunately don’t have enough of those evenings and sharing moments. Usually, I find easier to express my feelings or my thoughts with total strangers…how weird…

    Friends, wine, laughs, sharing, and a lot of tears, how great is that, eh! It’s important to thank people who have influenced us and helped us grow and learn about ourselves.

    So on that note,as I wish, but because I stay realistic, I will probably never get the chance to tell you in person… thank you for the inspiration you are giving to us, girls!

    I can’t say, because I have not met you yet, (Kristin, Kendra and Allison) but I can say that Tabby is a refreshing and warm person and that I had a wonderful meeting her, being a part of her Pink-Mania! 😛

    Take care of you and keep having fun !

    xoxo

  7. Marie Q. Says:

    wow.. kristin that was truly sweet how you described your friends..AAAAW ..Reminds me how much I love my girlfriends…!! I think that is great how girls can connect with each other and share so many experiences … I WILL TRY THAT SOON…! YEY.. THANKS FOR SHARING…! XO
    MARIE

  8. jono Says:

    Kristin, because I’m not a girl, I will do the same, except with a bunch of guys. I don’t want to be excluded from your suggestions because I am a man.

    I will post back here with my experiences.

  9. Seba Says:

    Ayyy kris….i love you. kisssss

  10. Lydia Says:

    That’s great. I don’t have friends to get together with and therefore I’m grateful for met some wonderful women online.
    I met Tabby today and she’s sooooo lovely. I was so happy to see her (and I’ll see her in the next days too). I’m feeling overwhelmed, a bit scared and lonely and she’s been able to make me feel better.
    She’s such an inspiration.

  11. Andrea Says:

    Well that’s a great idea Kristin, but sometimes you need luck to get together with them, with your girls. I’m 21 years old, and I’m studing law, and I work… when I was 15 I use to go with my friends to the National Pack here in my country, and we realy were closed. By now, I have my own life, and they have grown too. They have their works, their childs, their own lifes… it’s so sad to see that we’ll never be again the same group of little girls… But I guess someday we will meet again, I hope =)

  12. aquiles Says:

    You know something kristin it seems that ur full of suprises . your a girls with many diffrent qualities. that was cool talking about all ur friends close to you and what they mean to you . Its another way that women could understand each other better and see what they have in common. hope to hear more of u kristin and kendra , tabby and everybody else. peace

  13. Tabby Says:

    Aww thanks Kristin! That was so lovely to read! xo

  14. Joanie Says:

    I wish I could find 15 nice girls to get together with, but I have found that girls are truly difficult to bring together and get along with. I wish it was not true, but girls whether they know you very well or not very well are incredibly competitive and “catty” and nasty for no reasonable reason at all. When someone is unpleasant to you in theory it is great to think be the better person and shrug it off and keep going, but it’s hard to turn the other cheek and in all honest more fun to bash someone’s bad personality to get even.

  15. Jennifer Says:

    Kristin, I love it! I think that girls coming togther and telling each other what they think is just amazing.I think today too many girls don’t talk about their true feelings and bottle it up inside of them. So thanks!

  16. Michel - Sorocaba Says:

    KK, its longer contagious happiness to all.
    Kisses out of Brazil

  17. eliane Says:

    honestly i don t have many girlfriends because the world of girls is very dangerous,even though you have been friends for a long time, there will still be between you hypocrites, competition,and whether to know who is best then theother.i am talking due to my experience that is why i have a preferance for boyfriends then girlfriends because they are the most best friends one can have.

  18. airese Says:

    I went to an all girls school from kindergarten to high school so all of my close friends are girls, it’s true that we can really be ourselves when we are with our girlfriends. It is just sad sometimes to see us girls bringing each other down! I hope we girls should empower each other, who else will help us but fellow girls?

  19. Emma-Lu Says:

    Hi Kristin,
    I agree.. girls get togethers are essential! Sometimes you only realise how special and unique your girl friends are when you’re not around them for a while, and then you suddenly miss their special input in situations. I am completely different to my friends.. there are 6 of us who get together for girls nights, even though we have other circles of friends too. There is me, I’m known for being sensitive, quirky and I like to talk about politics! Then there is Lauren who rules the roost in a way, she can be a bit domineering, but you can always rely on her for her efficiency and if we need anything planned, she’s the person to who gets things done! Then there is Silke who is like a chameleon – she can listen and appreciate every single different type of person or group of people, while she morphs her way into situations and she’s ALWAYS the life of a party.. then there is Viv, who is very sporty and makes sure we get enough exercise.. and then Tam who is a tattoo artist with a soft side.. lol she’s bright and very creative. Then there is Lika, who like you, Kristin, is an actress, she does theatrical as well as some mini series here in my country. She graces us with her presence every now and then! So those are my peeps.. 🙂 x

  20. Jennifer Says:

    Awww Kristin that was so sweet how you talked about your friends. You are really lucky to have so many lovely people in your life. I don’t see my girfriends as much as I would like. We all have crazy lives so I probably won’t be able to get them all together and have a ladies night like yours. ❤

    Love the pic of you and Kendra.

  21. Frida Says:

    When you laugh, like, really laugh with friends that you love and friends that truly know you, you feel like you belong.

    I love these girl sharing sessions because everyone brings a special something and you get to relive funny memories. Like inside jokes that you did ALL THE TIME for a while and then forgot. Those are so fun bring up again.

  22. LI Says:

    Jono, i love you.

  23. *dacara* Says:

    Hi Kristin, it sounds like you ladies had a great time.

  24. taylor nikole Says:

    “Allie-mack is one of my dearest friends. She has been an inspiration to me in her ability to be open, and to translate her passions to others in a way that they get passionate too. Allison is so great at bringing people together to create. And her commitment to help others is something that we share. I have so enjoyed spending these years of my life in her presence.”

    its so weird, because even if you don’t know her… she seems to radiate this vibe that says exactly this.
    Sure I love her acting, but her mind is even more interesting.
    I find myself on her site everyday and I thank her for bringing me to be apart of her community.
    I don’t know if she really realizes it…. because she always wants to push further with the community..
    but she has brought a group of people together… who have become tight….
    and have become comfortable to tell stories and ask for advice.. etc.

    And I’ve actually never…. done that before…
    got together with a group of girls…
    is that sad?
    Or i’ve never gotten together with a group of girls to have conversation or anything….
    I’ve had sleepovers with 1 or 2 friends, but thats about it….
    and I went to a sleepover with about 10 girls, and I was disliked.. so i decided to do my own thing… apparently I was too outspoken and opinionated for them *bahhh*…
    I really wish i could do that though… it seems so fun 🙂 🙂 🙂

  25. Kristin Says:

    I often hear from people that girls are catty, mean, nasty, etc… I wonder why you ladies think that is. I have always had female friends. I adore women. I have not experienced a catt-i-ness so much. But that is partially because I am fairly “non-threatening”. But why would women feel threatened? What do you think would cause women to act that way?

    kk

  26. sandy Says:

    it was all a different personality is the same person. we all qualities and flaws, nobody is perfect. the perfect man does not exist.

  27. Chin Says:

    Kristin Says:
    September 25th, 2008 at 10:45 am
    I often hear from people that girls are catty, mean, nasty, etc… I wonder why you ladies think that is. I have always had female friends. I adore women. I have not experienced a catt-i-ness so much. But that is partially because I am fairly “non-threatening”. But why would women feel threatened? What do you think would cause women to act that way?

    kk

    -hmmm…maybe due to lack of confidence, self-esteem, and/or self-worth triggers such nastiness (???)….Woman who have difficulty being true to themselves and their surroundings (?)…
    Just some thoughts….=)

  28. Gina Says:

    @Kristin

    Well, I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again, haha. I live in the richest state in the United States and we have THE snobbiest people you have ever seen. They are wickedly rude, talk behind your back, pretend to be your friend and they completely unravel you. They display a mask, hide their true identity and have a sick and cruel sadistic side. Not to mention, they are racist, homophobic and take WAY too much pride in themselves.

    More than 90% of the the girls who I went to school with are this way. I don’t think they’ll ever change. Even the women in their 30s and 40s are snobby, rude and 2-faced because they can be. I think that it’s my location, you know, where I live and I wonder why people in my state are like this. That made no sense, but moving on! I lived in Los Angeles for a year and I did not come across ONE person who was like ANY of the girls that went to my school. I think it has to do with how the person, or in this case, 90% of the people who went to my school were raised. I wasn’t raised like that.

    I agree with what Chin said. They may be insecure. Or maybe they like watching people suffer? I know I was harassed and bullied to death in elementary, middle and high school. So bad that I almost committed suicide.

  29. taylor nikole Says:

    # Kristin Says:
    September 25th, 2008 at 10:45 am

    I often hear from people that girls are catty, mean, nasty, etc… I wonder why you ladies think that is. I have always had female friends. I adore women. I have not experienced a catt-i-ness so much. But that is partially because I am fairly “non-threatening”. But why would women feel threatened? What do you think would cause women to act that way?

    kk

    hmm did this have something to do with my disliking comment? lol

    oh my gosh!
    where have you been?
    Girls are so brutal in high school!
    I also try to stay away from it, by finding a group of friends that i can really relate to.

    My town has a 2 mile radius….
    its next to LA cali.
    and the people here are horrible, mainly the girls.
    apparently ‘we’ are known to be back stabbing and snobby.
    I don’t understand… I moved here freshman year :-/
    im fairly ‘non threatening’ too, but when it comes down to another girl being completely unreasonable and catty, etc… I change.

    I really find it hard to get along with girls my own age because of this….
    Girls around 13-19 seem to be like that.
    And above that… everything seems to be okay (just what I’ve noticed)
    But, i really do try because in the end… it helps to be able to get along.

    That’s why I think this site helps me so much.. I have the ability to talk to girls my own age and share ideas etc.

    There is no pre-judging like there is outside of this group… and i absolutely love it.
    btw, you guys are all amazing.

  30. Gina Says:

    I totally agree! The girls are absolutely brutal. I thought they would be worse LA, but I guess they aren’t. O.O

  31. taylor nikole Says:

    Haha, we are also famous for ‘cat fights’
    go figure…
    :-/
    ummm they are pretty bad…

    With guys… every guy that ive met either passes off a problem, or after resolved there is no problem.
    With girls (in general) we tend to hold major grudges.
    Its ridiculous!
    Seriously, people should forgive and forget and just live life, because in reality there is so much more to life than the little problems.

  32. Gina Says:

    Yeah! Girls do hold major grudges.

    When I went to college for a year in LA, this girl who I roomed with stole my stuff. Unfortunately, I am not a confrontational person, so I never confronted her about it. She knew about my art site and I posted something about her and so we got into a major fight on the internet and avoided each other in real life. I moved away.

    She still holds a grudge to this day, nearly 4 months after it happened.

    So, life lesson: Move on. Holding a grudge is really toxic.

  33. taylor nikole Says:

    on the other hand…. im confrontational 🙂
    haha
    i like to get things straightened out right away!
    and if they don’t want to forgive and forget and move on… it is their choice.
    I personally, think life is too short.

  34. Gina Says:

    Hmm, haha. Well, that’s a good thing. I may be confrontational on the internet, but in real life? HAH. I have social issues. For real. Confronting isn’t something I’ll do. I’m always afraid of the person’s reaction, plus I get all red in the face and my heart starts beating really fast – almost like I want to fight that person. It’s my body’s “fight or flight” response lol.

    Wow… I rambled.

    Yeah, that’s their choice. Life is too short, unfortunately.

  35. taylor nikole Says:

    yeah i ramble too.
    I just like to move on.
    I’m really not worried about a reaction.
    Chances are, they get pissed off and walk away or fight more.
    Really its the other persons decision.
    If i dont care about the person, it really doesnt matter to me to confront.
    The person isn’t important to me, therefore I would never have a relationship with them in the first place…. although that is different when it comes to friends.

  36. Gina Says:

    I guess so. 😦

  37. taylor nikole Says:

    :-/
    it doesn’t matter though…
    everyone deals with things differently.
    Whatever suites a person and keeps them happy….
    I’m all for it!

  38. MarilyneL Says:

    @ Kristin

    I didn’t have mean friends either. We were quite a calm and peaceful knitted group of friends. Howewer, I have never heard boys talking in the back of others…compared to a lot of girls. I can’t figure out why though, it seems like girls like to gossip and talk talk and talk, maybe that’s why! 😛 I’ve always found those sometimes nasty comments, quite funny because I am not this kind of person so I find it hard to understand why they are acting like that, or get angry, which I never do, really, so most of the times I’m like, aww c’mon girls….just forget it. It is usually simpler with guys, but as complicated women that we proudly are, we are mysteriously powerful and beautiful! YAY!

    But I have to say that girls also tell good and nice things about the other girls as well, compliments are everywhere! 😀

  39. taylor nikole Says:

    hmm that talking and gossiping energy should go towards more productive conversations and topics :-/
    haha
    its just ridiculous that alot of girls have nothing better to talk about?
    I’ve found that alot of times it makes (also people in general) them feel better about themselves to put others down.

  40. chas kent Says:

    As a great supporter of GBD, a hugh fan of Kristin Kreuk, and a cheerleader/motivator for Tabby I suppose my invitation to the gathering was lost in the mail. I realize I miss the desired demographics just a tad. Twenty-five years over on age, male instead of female, retired instead of just starting out. Seriously I like to pop in now and than and catchup on what is going on with this life changing, world reaching company. The goals or expectations of this company are a reflection of the company creators who care and give of themselves day in and day out with the hope of improving the lives of girls throughout the world. I truly think they are great, even if they lost my invitation.

  41. G Says:

    I think girls get catty and mean and nasty because they feel threatened by things in other girls. I think they feel threatened, because they have inferior complexes. They see things in other girls that either a) look like they can threaten their position, or b) the girl sees qualities she wishes she had and gets jealous. Some girls think all they have are their positions in groups, looks, etc. It’s a defense mechanism of sorts.

  42. taylor nikole Says:

    hahah i try to veer away from being that girl…
    I think that im lucky for what i have…
    my ‘community’, my family, my friends…. my mind…
    The ability to see flaws as beauty.
    i think if i didn’t have that ability, id try to see the world as a perfect place.
    hmmm now im veering a little 🙂

  43. Emma Says:

    Kristin,
    I think it could be a lack of confidence and maybe also immaturity. Often, the cattiest girls have grown up in a very sheltered context, where they get whatever they want and parents never say ‘no’ to them. Ironically this turns them into nasty, catty, jealous types, because (and this is just my guess), they have never had to ‘fend’ for themselves or take responsibility? It usually balances out as they get older but as Gina said, some NEVER change – even in their 30s or 40s – I pity them for being so shallow! xx

  44. Emma-Lu Says:

    oops! I meant to send that message from Emma-Lu not Emma (that’s my former GBD name) – yea I wanted to add that those catty girls can cause a lot of despondency for other girls, but try to feel pity for them instead! That will help you deal with them at school.

  45. Jasmin Says:

    Aww sounds like the perfect evening – I like to do that as well with my friends and it’s so easy and perfect, isn’t it?
    If there wasn’t our female friends and “stay in” evenings……I’d be eating all day long – all by myself.

  46. Joey(Jil) Says:

    I wish I had girlfriends growing up. I didn’t have a close female friend to hang with. When I turned 21, the first person ever to hang out with me was my so-to-be husband. I’ve never had sleepovers with girls my age, never had a friend tell me about puberty nor about boys. I didn’t know anything about sex til I met my husband. Girls nowadays here just stick with you if you don’t sleep with their boyfriend or know you since birth.

  47. AlyssaMarie Says:

    Thats what we call girls night out. I used to get my sisters and our girlfriends together, either by going out for dinner or clubbing or even just hanging out at home. It was such a nice way of getting to know one another. It was fun. I havent done it in awhile due to work and other things that keeps me busy.
    KK, you are a beautiful woman, why hide your face behind those big sunglasses?

  48. Kelly Says:

    Reading this just gave me goose-bumps and made me think about my own friends. I love them so much and I can’t imagine a life without them. Even though one of my friends moved away so I can barely see her, she’ll always be one of my best friends even if I don’t see her as much as I used to. I love my friends as sisters.

  49. taylor nikole Says:

    ehh i kinda have one like that…
    except i haven’t seen her in years…
    her mom died and she moved away and now i haven’t seen her since.
    It still hurts, but things get better with time.
    Always….

  50. Jennifer Says:

    You seem so wise beyond your years Kristen. And I’m kicking myself because I didn’t think of that idea first! With the holidays coming, what better way to show you’re thankful for all the ladies in one’s life. Great post!

  51. Jasmin Says:

    I’d definately say that a lot of girls feel threatened by other girls because some have a very low self esteem and think that the own gender is most likely to be the most threatening. Men think the same about other men but since they are quite “easy” creatures of course they won’t get to the thinking point…

  52. Nakisa Says:

    Catty and mean girls.. it’s inevitable, but more prominently in high school, probably because they’re young and foolish or more so during those times.

    The earlier times of my life where really awkward for me. Being half Vietnamese and spending most of my crucial youngin years (7-13) in Vancouver, I always felt like the odd one out. I got along with kids but I never really had any special connection with anyone. Everyone I knew was either Chinese or Korean and I was just like, yea ok you go hang out in your ethnic groups while I just float around… It was almost like a really mild taste of being a refugee.

    And then I moved to Calgary (Canada’s little America), which is so white it would probably blind you, but it’s getting better now. I didn’t fit in there either, and then I started to see all these clicks and personality boxes that where similar to ones in Vancouver. So I tried fitting into one of these boxes, and it was really uncomfortable, with limbs protruding everywhere, my ass sticking out of the top, and then I thought ‘ why the hell would anyone want to confine themselves to this f*ing box.’ So I tore it up, well tried to, I wasn’t strong enough to completely tear it to shreds (still don’t know if I am now). I had some friends in Calgary but they where more like acquaintances. I knew their names, they knew mine, and that was it. More and more I saw things that I didn’t like, I realized that I was being treated with subtle discrimination. And then I started to pick up on the cattieness and shite like that, so i began to burn my bridges. The result is that people began to see me more and more as a pariah, and began treating me with more subtle social discrimination. So, not only did I look different, I thought different, acted different, dressed different, so on and so fourth. Even though people there being older had the idea that discrimination should be eradicated, there was still that air of uneasiness whenever I was around (plus I’d been known for ruffling a couple of feathers, hehe guilty pleasure).

    I never considered myself a threat either (well almost) , yet I was treated as such. But I have been told I have a kind of aggressive demeanor.

    “Every woman is a rebel, and usually in wild revolt against herself” – Oscar Wilde
    In high school, we try more to disguise it than come to terms with it, leading to a revolt against anyone who threatens to enlighten their own self-detest. We detest ourselves because, instinctively, we are aware of something greater…

  53. * Dounia * Says:

    kristin greeting!

    my name is Dounia, I am 17 years old I am French of Algerian origin, and I you dispatches message to tell yourselves has which point I admire you.

    I wanted first of all to say to you that your new haircut you go has marvel.

    PS: I hope that you could answer me, because cella will accomplish my dream. I am often told that her vie am courte, and that it faut use it accomplish the biggest dream our kisses that God keeps you.

    See you soon =D I love you

  54. IGOR Says:

    Christina’s greetings! I from Russia at me birthday was on December, 26th. With coming birthday. Remain same beautiful and young, all your dreams let will come true.

Leave a Reply

