News day Tuesday: Yummmm Fooodddd

So, skahahoo sent in a link to a really interesting article that caught my attention… being the one who’s experiencing weight loss (or lack thereof at times *innocent whistle*).

First of all, go read this article, then come back.

K, now that you’ve read the article…

One of the most common things I hear from my friends (some of you post on here) about their own health journey is that its hard to stay away from the foods that you like. Its almost like some people seem to feel as if the only way to lose weight is to deprive yourself of the foods you love…

WHAT IF THAT’S NOT TRUE???

What if there’s thousands of other foods you LOOOOVE but you’ve never really stopped to experience it? The article above is interesting because it points out this same concept of deprivation over enjoyment. When I first started my journey I think one of the things that made my massive amount of weight loss so successful was the fact that I didn’t feel as if I was depriving myself. I was opening my world up to a brand new world of yummy (really yummy, in fact) recipes and foods that I’d never allowed myself to enjoy before. I mean, who KNEW asparagus was so freaking yummy? Especially when grilled in olive oil and some spice? MMMMMMMMmmm.

There’s so many fantastically delicious recipes out there that are green-based (meaning veggie) without all the bad fats and stuff… I realized that I shouldn’t even really need to focus on the amount of fats that are in something if I’m staying green, you know? Calories are a great way to gauge things if you really really need measurement BUT I found that by sticking to the green stuff or stuff with a thick outer layer I’m usually doin’ great!

That’s my two cents on the NY Times two cents. Now lets see how many cents we can accumulate in the comments! (okay, yeah… that was kinda lame)

Tags: , , , ,

13 Responses to “News day Tuesday: Yummmm Fooodddd”

  1. Gina Says:

    Yeah, I remember talking about this a while ago. Thing is, if you don’t eat ENOUGH (like the recommended calorie intake) then you actually gain weight, ironically. That happened to me when I mentioned that story a while ago about me not eating much because I barely had any money to buy it.

    The article is right – don’t deprive your body of food, but don’t overeat and do get regular exercise so that you won’t gain those extra pounds. :]

    Green foods are yummy! Unfortunately, I am pretty picky when it comes to most healthy foods. There are only a few that I’ll eat. It’s all about taste for me.

  2. jessica f Says:

    i agree, asparagus is super yum yum! tabby, have you tried steam broccoli or even red bell peppers? OMG those are my favorites. I never use to eat veggies until a year ago. Now, i can’t seem to get enough. I am SUPER proud of you and your amazing journey. πŸ™‚ Much ❀ from northern cali! I am lovin’ the updates.

  3. Ver0nik21 Says:

    Yummy! veggies!!!

    Me turning into a vegeterian! I just have lots of recepies. Well, actually i buy these veggie products that are ready in just 4 minutes, they are actually called Linda McCartney ( yes as in Paul McCartney’s wife). Trust me her food is really yummy!

    Wish you the best!

    xoxoxo

  4. skahahoo Says:

    @ Gina – Yeah Gina! You’re right! When you don’t eat enough, your body thinks you’re starving yourself, so the survival instinct kicks in and tries to conserve energy since less food is coming into the body. In other words, your metabolism slows down. Then, if you start eating normally again, you end up gaining weight because your body isn’t burning as many calories as it used to. This is a very big reason why deprivation diets don’t work. That and all that yummy food you don’t get to eat…makes for a sad, sad life. lol.

  5. MarilyneL Says:

    That is so true! I live in a small town so I have a quite big background so my family has a garden. It is so nice in the summer to just get a fresh carrot, radish, pepper or concumber in eat it while it’s still warm because of the sun! Cooking is also a good way to eat healthy. You can can totally control what will end up being in your recipe and give it the taste you want! πŸ˜› When a meal has taken you more than 3 minutes in the microwave, you won’t cheat in the fridge to get another frozen thing. Though, we unfortunately live in a society that is continuelly running, running and in which time seems like a rare thing…

    Bon appΓ©tit!

  6. taylor nikole Says:

    hmmm yummy food πŸ™‚

    oh speaking of metabolism….
    girls on diet pills :-/
    i hate it..
    especially ones that are so skinny or so ‘perfect’
    … my friend did or still takes them… im not even sure anymore

  7. Ver0nik21 Says:

    Ohh ys those pills uΒ‘i had myu problem with those thinking being really skinny was the best and I needed to lose weight fast!
    Also I starve myself for a week so i could fit in a dress. Crazy? Finally realised that just wasn’t the way to go!!!
    Discovered exercises and also learn a good bbalance diet.
    πŸ™‚

  8. taylor nikole Says:

    my mom and i are signing up for a gym membership….
    she wants to lose weight and i agreed to go along with her on that ‘journey’ so she will have some moral support and someone there to work out with.

  9. Ver0nik21 Says:

    that’s great! somehow if you go and pick a road to go forward if you do it with companu: friends and family! it seems easier!!
    πŸ˜€

  10. taylor nikole Says:

    its true…
    in some form or another we all need or crave support.
    No matter how strong we are… deep down inside we wish we had someone standing next to us supporting and following us all the way until we reach our goal…or overcome a fear etc.

  11. Ver0nik21 Says:

    It does seem that everyone has someone to lean on. and that’s great, coz at the end all that matters in the experiences you takes the smiles, the laughter, the love!! and if you have that while reaching the goals you wanted in your life! then it can’t get better that that!!

    πŸ™‚

  12. Emma-Lu Says:

    I am completely for Slow-food movement! It’s like a bonding session, when you cook and eat slowly as a group of friends or a family, and you actually taste the food and it can scintillate the senses. I don’t like this rush-rush process of eating or quickly grabbing something and then back to work in 10 mins.. crazy!

  13. skahahoo Says:

    I second Emma-Lu! I hope the Slow Food movement really catches on and that people go back to connecting with their food and preparing it the way they like and truly savoring what they eat. Food is a pleasure. I love food! lol.

    Thanks Tabby for posting this article.

    FOOD ROCKS!!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

