Movie Madness Mondays: Little Women

I have read this book many times. As a kid I used to read it, and then weep… I always related so much to Jo, and her journey. And when I cut my hair and got all that “hate mail” I joked about how I was like Jo when she cut hers, and they were all like, “But Jo, your hair was your one beauty!” She was creative, abrasive,and so not in touch with herself as a female. And every time I got to the part where she said no to Laurie’s marriage proposal, I cried. heehee… Her journey seems like the quintessential teen journey of finding oneself and failing all over the place, all the while standing up for who you think you are. And in the process getting to know who you truly are, and who you want to become.

Each female in this kinda represents a different aspect of female to me… The strength and creativity of Jo, the compassion and kindness of Beth, the girlishness of Amy, the femininity and Meg and the nurturing of their mother. The actors were lovely. When I saw this I totally fell in love with Christian Bale… Still think he’s pretty awesome.

Ciao and Love,

Kristin

Movie for next week: Let’s go uber chick! The Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood!

Tags: ,

11 Responses to “Movie Madness Mondays: Little Women”

  1. Colleen Says:

    This movie always makes me cry, I haven’t seen it in awhile I forgot how great the character Jo was.

    Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood is a very good movie, can’t wait to read the review.

  2. suzieQ Says:

    I’m old school, my favorite is the June Allison, Elizabeth Taylor, Peter Lawford, Margaret O’Brien version. Of course, Katharine Hepburn was a fantastic Jo too! I love old movies, ….you should pick one of those sometime!

  3. Maxima Says:

    It’s the classic tale of self-esteem that, I’m afraid to admit, works every time on me. I simply love this movie and the cast is great. When I saw it for the first time I thought Wynona nailed the role of Jo.
    Thanks for remind me of it.
    Arrivederci!

  4. Maxima Says:

    I forgot……suzieQ is right, the Elizabeth taylor version is fantastic!

  5. taylor nikole Says:

    OMG
    ya ya sisterhood.
    I watched that with my mom and i ended up crying πŸ™‚
    its an amazing movie!
    haha
    ya know.. ill just go watch it again
    πŸ˜‰

  6. jessica f Says:

    Kristin, I can’t believe anyone would write “hate mail” to you at all. You are way to sweet and real to be hated on. Plus, appearance shouldn’t be too important. That really surprises me. I think you should be able to express yourself any way you want.
    With so much love and female support,
    Jessica

  7. taylor nikole Says:

    ahh
    kristin, since jessica mentioned it, that comment popped out at me πŸ™‚

    Short hair is sassy… your long hair was stunning, but when you have the guts to cut it…
    it really shows something about your personality.
    A bit daring.
    I had long hair and I cut it the day before prom (yes i went as a freshman :-/)
    up past my shoulders and i had no regrets.
    And, exactly, free expression should not only be tolerated, but respected.
    You got guts girl!
    and i seriously respect it!

  8. Emma-Lu Says:

    Kristin, that’s a really clear and succinct review… nice one.
    I so agree with you on that movie. I’ve seen it a couple times and every time I do, I cry my heart out. The female characters are so different but all lovely, and their sisterly bond is so heartwarming. Jo is such a great, and colourful character. I was hoping she and Christian Bale’s character would get together, but alas, this is not how life works. hehe. I also think Christian is so perfect in that movie.. πŸ˜‰
    And KK your hair is cute!
    Your complexion and the shape of your face suits both long and short hair, so blehbleh to those who gave you grief about it! πŸ˜‰

  9. aquiles Says:

    I think every single trait you said is right about you but theirs only onething i got to diagree on . is that your hair wasant just the only thing beautifull about you Ms.kristin , yeah your hair is gorgeous but im positive that no matter what you do to yourself you still look amazing. and thats the truth. well got to to go piece K.

  10. Lorène Says:

    Hello Kristin,
    I agree with you, Christian Bale is fantastic , I saw him in a very great movie this is “rescue dawn” . It’s about the war in Vietnam and it’s really overwhelming . I recommend you this movie (unfortunately the hero is a man and not a girl otherwise it probably will be a very great movie for the next movie madness πŸ™‚ )

    PS:I am very sorry because I don’t sent you something for the 1st october but I come back to my home only at the end of the week and during the other day I study . I am very disappointed because I think that it will be great to be the voice of girls by design, to share your point of view with the others …

    Ps: Do you learn that Paul Newman is dead following a cancer ? When I learn that news I was very sad .It’s funny because I saw him only in one movie this is “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof ” (witch I recommend too)and I fell in love with him .

    Huge kisses (Ps: (and it’s the last one I swear πŸ™‚ )your site is very great and I like what you do for the other , having a place to share and discuss is really important ) πŸ™‚
    ciao ciao
    xoxo

  11. whitney Says:

    i can totally relate.
    i cut all my hair off a week after kristin cut hers( i wasnt trying to jock her rockin style or anything lol) but people were always telling me “dont cut your hair, ” your hair is your crowning glory”(what ever that means) and in a way i kinda got sick of people trying to make up the person that they wanted to be.
    So on my birthday i cut the sucker off. And after i did people complained of course but you know what i let them because after so many years of always letting people tell me how to live and how to do things i just didnt want to be that girl anymore. i did want to always to be the person walking in someone elses shadow.

Leave a Reply

