Movie Madness Mondays: Divine Secrets of the YaYa Sisterhood

Okay so I admit, Sandra Bullock is my all-time favorite actress… no offense Kristin and Allison! So, any time I get a chance to talk about the Ya-Yas is a good time for me!

One of the absolute coolest thing about this movie is the way that all of the ladies inter-related. They all knew each other so well that they knew how to successfully go about their mission. The movie is stubborn. That’s simply what it is. It’s about two women who are stubborn and want to stay doing things the way they are doing them and only want the other to love them regardless. Their tactics in which they do this was pretty … intense! I mean, starting from writing to disowning to sending wedding invitations and de-inviting, to just crazy stuff that they’d do in order to get this stubborn attention from the other; stuff that said “I’m me. Love me. Or else!!!” None of us do that ever, do we? 😉

Sidda’s review of her life seemed to be pretty jaded. All she knew was that her mom abandoned her for quite a while and that she was a bit on the insane side of the crazy scale. Once she sat down with the Ya-Yas and started hearing more and more of the history of her mom’s life, her entire viewpoint started changing. Everything started making more sense to her and ultimately she was able to gain a lot more compassion for her mom.

Isn’t that neat, though? I mean, we can never really know what is going on for people when we have bad experiences. We can never really full know why, but sometimes we can sit down and get more information and backstory and suddenly everything changes and a new world of love and appreciation opens up.

It has happened to me several times and I try to make it a practice regularly these days to take a step back from my dramas and try to gain a sense of compassion for the other side of things.

Aside from the whole compassion piece, I just really loved this movie. I loved the setting, the community, the fact that the Ya-Yas had to do some really funny things in order to even get Sidda out there (while I don’t condone their methods in any fashion, the Rupee scene was pretty dang funny). All-in-all I loved the human-ness of the relationship between the mom and daughter. I loved that they fought and hated each other at times. I loved that Sidda struggled, I loved that her mom struggled and that there’s nothing greater demonstrated from her behalf than how much she LOVED her children.

Anyway, man, I can keep going but um… I better stop. What’d you ladies think of the movie? 😀

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Movie Madness Mondays: Divine Secrets of the YaYa Sisterhood”

  1. taylor nikole Says:

    okay I absolutely loved this movie…
    it really felt to me like it was a great example for the rainbow after the storm.

    There are so many things we don’t know… and that we underestimate about people and it really causes us to judge.
    Although having first hand experience with her mothers stress (in not the greatest ways) can be scaring.

    it was just one of those great, but realistic endings and movies.
    When you take the time to conquer the fear of knowing the person, you can have a better understanding of their struggles… which caused them to be mentally unstable.

    The power of understanding, friendship, family and eternal bond. The reconciliation, the redemption….

    “We can never really full know why, but sometimes we can sit down and get more information and backstory and suddenly everything changes and a new world of love and appreciation opens up.”

    I’ve found this true also, but sometimes I can’t help but have that little doubt in the back of my brain, the remainder of scars if the person had dragged me into their struggle and downfall.
    I guess its forgive and forget and appreciate what you have, while you have it.

  2. Emma-Lu Says:

    Great review Tabby! I can completely relate to the mother-daughter constant arguing, and anger to each other to the then almost 360 degree turn around to instant adoration and unconditional love for your mom.
    It can be crazy!
    Looky Taylor Nikole! What a great point you made – in reiterating how hard it is to not judge or resent someone when they exhaust you constantly with their stuff and try to bring you down with them. It’s a challenge to rise above and still love them sometimes… Nice one!!
    So what is the next Monday Movie Tabby? x

  3. Kendra Says:

    I love this movie too! The dramatics of being women, the deep friendships and bonds these women share, the expression of the their personalities, (that tend to be a wee bit intense), but still loving one another through compassion.

    We are all only doing the best we can in any given moment and to see each other in the most honest way we can, and find love and acceptance, is a really amazing thing 🙂

  4. Alyssa Says:

    I haven’t seen this movie since it first came out, I actually didn’t see this w/ my mom or another female figure…my dad took me and my sister to see this. I don’t remember him complaining about it so he must have like it somewhat lol. I’ll have to rewatch this I don’t remember the themes or anything, but from what I remember it was a good a movie.

  5. Alyssa Says:

    Oh what movie is next on this list? Might I reccommend my all time fav movie…Roman Holiday w/ Audrey Hepburn.

  6. taylor nikole Says:

    OMG ALYSSA!
    anything audrey hepburn is amazing!

  7. taylor nikole Says:

    or ‘an affair to remember’! not hepburn but still an amazingly cute and lovely movie 🙂

  8. Emma-Lu Says:

    oo! I also adore Audrey Hepburn – please please Roman Holiday or Breakfast at Tiffanys?

  9. megan Says:

    I love Sandra Bullock also! She’s kind of my girl crush. haha

Leave a Reply

