Movie Madness Mondays: Gray Matters

“A romantic comedy about a brother, a sister and the girl of their dreams.”

Cheesy, feel good movie time! Last time I tried to be all proper while doing the review, this time lets go for something a tiny bit less rules centered and more relaxed. After all, it does suit the feel of this movie.

So we have Gray who has such a close relationship to her brother they’re often mistaken for a couple. They’re so alike they end up falling for the same girl 😮 Of course there’s a lot of drama, because well, if you were the brother you probably wouldn’t be too happy about your sister being in love with your wife either! Although, in my opinion, it wasn’t so much Gray being in love with Charlie (Charlotte, aka the brother’s wife ) as much as Gray clinging to the very first woman that made her realize that “hey, maybe I’m not straight.” What do you guys think?

The movie is terribly corny, but still very cute (and with a very happy ending!). It brings up a lot of important issues, all covered in one tiny scene in an elevator as Gray rants to her brother about how much more complicated her life will be now. Which, yes, very cliche, but still true: “Because I’m never going to be able to walk down the street, holding hands with my partner without the rest of the world giving us a look. And may never have the wedding that I once dreamed of and I may never have children. And one day when I die people will never give as much respect to my grieving lover as if she were my husband.”

I love this movie, but I am still waiting for a romantic comedy that will not bring up any social/political/religious issues and will just be about the couple, not their gender. Do you guys think that it’s possible? Is it possible to have a , say, “how to lose a guy in 10 days” type of movie but with 2 girls or 2 boys instead, without pointing out the obvious? Or better yet, without there having to be an “obvious”. Hey it makes sense in my head!

Now I shall finish this before I kick myself for picking Gray Matters over Imagine Me and You.

laters!

coming soon on your computer screens (hehehe): freedom writers!

Tags: , ,

38 Responses to “Movie Madness Mondays: Gray Matters”

  1. MarilyneL Says:

    I absolutely agree with you Marianne, things have to change, and movies too! Love is love.

  2. taylor nikole Says:

    hahaha
    awww i wanna see it!
    even if its corny
    lol
    ohh and freedom writers!

  3. Binks Says:

    I’ve seen pieces of this movie, but not all of it. It was pretty funny and sweet, I liked it 😀 They were passing it a while back on TV. And I saw most of Imagine Me and You on utube 😛 hehe I love those 2 actresses (from Coyote Ugly and TSCC) that movie was kick-ass too. Anyways…

    I think one day, we will Marianne. Hopefully. People are still getting used to the idea, and are now barely able to swallow it, but if progress keeps continuing and we keep changing and being more accepting, then I’m sure there will be a day where there won’t be an “obvious” just a cute film with 2 ppl who love e/o 😀

  4. taylor nikole Says:

    hahah coyote ugly would be a wicked movie for movie madness monday LOL

  5. Gina Says:

    Oh, it’s definitely possible! In fact, they just passed a law in my state to allow gays to marry. 🙂 That makes me happy even though I’m straight.

    Good movie, considering that this law was JUST passed!

  6. taylor nikole Says:

    ^^ hehe
    as long as there is a cute storyline 🙂
    love is love

  7. Binks Says:

    Well they passed it in Cali, haha…even though there’s a prop against it now. >_> Stupids. I was so happy it finally passed. Hopefully the prop will fail and everything will remain the same. 🙂

  8. taylor nikole Says:

    i know!
    i remember they announced it in class once they made it public and its was amazing 🙂
    i mean im straight
    but it shows a step towards tolerance
    and i love it
    i have gay friends and its amazing to know that they can have the same benefits and happiness…
    although everyone says marriage ruins life :-/
    lol

  9. Marianne Says:

    Marriage does NOT ruin life 😛 I can attest to that 😛

    Yah, it’s awesome about Connecticut! and here is to hoping most people will vote No on prop 8! 😀

    Oh, I love coyote ugly!!

  10. taylor nikole Says:

    haha i know right!
    and
    hmm i can’t vote
    but i would
    i tell everyone to
    its just ridiciulous
    we flip flop on everything

  11. Marianne Says:

    it’s good to see young people wanting to vote, and taking an interest in politics, though! so go you!

  12. taylor nikole Says:

    hahah omg!
    I love politics 🙂
    hahaha
    debating politics has become
    a favorite thing to do at the dinner
    table with my grandparents… and I

  13. LI Says:

    I’ve never heared about this movie. But OMG!!! lol. The plot was given in the trailer…too bad! It was a really a surprise . :O

  14. Ver0nik21 Says:

    So I’ve just finished watching Grays Matter and I found it to be not only funny but also heartwarming. It was refreshing to finally see a romantic comedy that had an original twist. I had no idea where it was going and was caught off guard in a very good way.

    Heather Graham is funny, Tom Cavanaugh relishes in this role, and can you blame them both for falling in love with this Bridget Moynahan? The director really knows how to keep the movie rolling, to make if funny when it’s supposed to be funny and also touching in just the right moments. She got such great performances out of her actors.

    I left the movie with a smile on my face.
    Glad to see that in the Usa people are becoming more open to having romantic comedy with gay characters. Good for you!

    We beat you Americans!
    We have gay marriages in the Uk a long time now!!
    Well, it’s a civil marriage, the religious part it’s taken out of it coz the Church doesn’t accept it but anyways not so many people in brit get married in Churchs!
    So it’s a marriage!!!

    I attend to one last year, my best’s friend aunt got married!
    Such a fun party! 😉

  15. Marianne Says:

    @ taylor – people here in Canada are more interested in american politics than canadian lol and most seem to dislike mccain/palin 😀

    @ veronik…. in Canada it’s not civil unions, it’s a marriage 😀 and some churches do it , too. so there, we beat you 😛 la la la

    anyway, I agree, it was such a cute movie! I didn’t think it would get as many positive comments here, so I’m pleasantly surprised! and I agree, haha no one can blame either of them for falling for Bridget! I mean, charlie 😛 plus, it was nice seeing rachel shelley and what’s his name, the taxi driver.

  16. gaylady Says:

    I haven’t seen the film but after reading the reviews here I think I’ll have a look. Kissing Jessica Stein is a good film. Straight girl wonders if she’s gay, so answers a personal ad in the paper and goes on a blind date with a woman. V funny film.

  17. Ashley Says:

    Awesome!! To Gray Matters, totally love it. Yeah it’s not the best romantic comedy but it’s a good one. We definitely are tired of seeing genders because well…we didn’t write it. Though you never know, I could just write it right now, but I mean it’s life and that’s drama. Drama makes movies. But I have thought like Gray, but differently, mines more of a “hey, man, I’m not perfect, I’m just learning.” So yeah…Love Freedom Writers good chocie.

  18. taylor nikole Says:

    Maianne,

    hmmm because we are scandalous 🙂
    makes for great news and debate LOL
    hahah if McCain wins I have no clue what I’ll
    do…
    we already dealt with 8 years of Bush
    *scowl*

  19. Marianne Says:

    haha!
    If he wins you just keep doing the best you can to raise awareness and make the world a better place! world leaders aren’t the only ones who can make change – anyone can. So don’t give up 😀

  20. taylor nikole Says:

    haha
    damn
    but but but…
    my friend and i already have a plan
    we are going to get outa here
    and move to canda!
    lol
    she has family there :-p

    yeah if he wins… then dies
    we have Palin…
    now thats ridiculous
    haha

  21. Marianne Says:

    Palin is rather scary, yes. hey I am already in Canada so… haha but seriously, everybody says they’ll move to canada and then dont haha which is a good thing i guess, otherwise we’d get overpopulated here haha

  22. Binks Says:

    Honestly, I dislike both candidates as future leaders, but Obama, imo seems the lesser of the 2 evils. But I gotta give mucho props and respect to VP and P nominees.

    although…If I hear Palin say “Maverick” one more time I’m having her NRA followers use her as target practice >_>

    hehe Tina fey as Palin had me rolling. FUNNY!!

    OoOoo looks like Canada beat ya V-card. OH SNAP! 😛 Everyone beats the USA in stuff…except scandal. >=) hehe

    SCORE! Freedom Writers is the next movie. I love it. 😀 Hilary Swank is one of my fav actresses eva!

  23. Marianne Says:

    HAHAHAHA @ the nra comment.

    hey thats what I was going to mention…. palin did something good…. she gives tina fey some awesome material to work with for her skits hehehehehheeh

  24. Marianne Says:

    oh and I’ve gotta add: I don’t know how I should feel about my review having so many comments that have nothing to do with the movie itself hahah 😀

  25. Binks Says:

    lmao. You should feel proud cause that means u touched on more issues than just a film 😉

    I would comment more on the movie, if I had seen the whole thing. :p *adds it to list*

  26. taylor nikole Says:

    ^^
    this is true 🙂
    binks is wise

    hahah i still have a movie review to write 😦
    for my newspaper
    nick and norah all the way!

  27. Marianne Says:

    True story! I am amazing like that.

    My wisdom is rubbing off on Binks. Trufax.

    Ohhh I wanna see that movie.. but what im really looking forward to is the secret life of bees.

  28. taylor nikole Says:

    i’ve actually only seen one commercial for that movie 🙂
    but it looks good

    oh you should go see it!
    its soo cute

  29. Marianne Says:

    I will!

    So, yeah, how awesome is Gray Matters eh (as not to seem so spammy :D)!

  30. Binks Says:

    Spam….what is this spam you speak of? 😛

    ohh Secret life if bees, I wanna see that too, with Dakota Fanning and Queen Latifah, hellz yeah. 😀

    yeah…Grey Matters was awesome. One of these weeks should be Imagine Me and You. That way u won’t feel so guilty for choosing this one Marianne. 🙂

  31. Marianne Says:

    Yeah, hopefully we can do IMAY one day! It’s soooo cute! plus the accent!

  32. Binks Says:

    hehe…that scene in the back of the flower shop thingy, was kick-@ss. Lena Heady rules.
    Accents are everyone’s kryptonite. 😛

  33. Marianne Says:

    Now I know you’re a geek because you referenced kryptonite 😀 One of my favorite scenes is when they’re in the market and keep running into each other 😀

  34. taylor nikole Says:

    accentsss!

  35. Ver0nik21 Says:

    Oh see!!

    You guys love accents!!!
    So you only love me coz of my accent??
    😦
    LOL

    Well Canada is closer to Usa so it’s obvious you guys are gonna run away there!
    LOL
    Plus the Uk is a small country, you all wouldn’t fit!
    But if you want culture and accents!
    Here we are!
    LOL

    😉

  36. taylor nikole Says:

    haha duh
    first i make my way to oregon and such and BAM!
    im in canada…
    its a straight path!
    lol

  37. Ver0nik21 Says:

    LOL!

    you have it all planned!
    Just in case!

    @Marianne!
    Darn it!
    Canada beats us!
    LOL
    Well but I think here was one of the first countries!!
    😉

  38. Jasmin Says:

    I have seen it and I totally loved it…not only because it had my fav actress in it, simply because they are pointing out the values in life….

Leave a Reply

