Comic Book Request

So besides the side of me that works all of the time, there’s also the other equally geeky side of me that loves comic books. I’m a huge Joss Whedon fan and am currently in love with the Buffy Season 8 comics. Willow is my favorite because she’s got such an awful destiny to try to beat and it seems like its going to take some amazing inner strength and personal growth for her to do that.

Your turn! What comic books do you all read (if you do at all) and what do you like the most about your favorite characters and your favorite stories in comics? Who is your favorite writer(s) and illustrator(s) and why?

Tags:

13 Responses to “Comic Book Request”

  1. taylor nikole Says:

    okay (shhhh) I love old DC comics πŸ™‚

    ooo and spiderman… ill admit it

    and my acting coach has been writing a comic book that I’ve gotten the chance to read a bit of.
    Its really geeky, but cute…
    its called cyber angels πŸ™‚
    hahah what i love about her comic books… is the fact that that most of it is made up with pop culture references…
    its soo her πŸ™‚

  2. jessica f Says:

    Tabby,
    I LOVE Buffy the Vampire Slayer! But, I have to say my most favorite comic is Archie. I grew up my entire life reading my little Archie comics. I think my favorite in that comic is Betty. HAHA She is such a patient, sweet girl.

  3. Superkurre Says:

    I am not usually a comic fan, I mean my friend is a major Marvel fan and has almost every issue of the X-Men ever published, and I do enjoy reading them, but I’ve never really been into them. I too am a huge Joss Whedon fan and started buying the Buffy season 8 comics. They are good, but it’s hard keeping track of when new issues are out. Maybe that’s just me.

    BTW, is anyone else SOOOOOOOO looking forward to Dollhouse?!?!?!?! Can’t wait πŸ˜›

  4. Ashley Says:

    Yay! Taylor nikole i totally just started the superman comics awhile ago…and it’s fun to see how they seem to pair relationships when they make them into movies. Favorite character is of course Clark Kent and Lois Lane.

  5. Jennifer Says:

    I’m not a comic book reader. In fact I’ve only read one and that’s only because it came free with a Smallville DVD.

  6. nefra Says:

    Love comics! am way into comic books at the moment, been reading supernatural comic book, superman and house of mystery … i just love drama, romance and horror seems to be a good combination .

  7. Jane | BH Says:

    Dawson’s Creek all the way, & my fav character is Andie πŸ˜€ Then Pacey πŸ™‚

  8. taylor nikole Says:

    @Ashley

    hehe well,
    my uncle used to read them all the time, so i used to sit there and read them with him when i was younger πŸ™‚
    and i’ve also had a little brother…
    so i was bound to read a comic here and there haha

  9. Laaya Says:

    I dont read comic books, I dont know why…
    Well I loved the BTVS show when it aired but I havent read the comic, im so afraid that ill be disappointed πŸ˜›
    but maybe I will buy it… ive heard good things about it πŸ™‚

  10. O.T Says:

    I only collect Superman comics. I don’t like to read much. Only write.

  11. skahahoo Says:

    Heeeeey….comics! I haven’t read comics for a very long time now. I used to read them when I was a kid…like Archie and the basic superheroes (Superman, Batman, Spider-Man, etc.). Then I didn’t read them for a while…not junior high or high school. But then in college, one of my friends was so into Sandman that I was curious and started reading those instead of doing Calculus or Physics. lol. *sigh* I really enjoyed Sandman. I think Neil Gaiman’s a terrific writer, and that guy who did the covers…something McKean I think? I really liked his art.

    So that was the only thing I read in college. Then after college, one of my great, great friends got really into Kabuki, by…umm…something Mack I think. David Mack? I really liked that too. That dude has so much talent it’s ridiculous…he does all of the writing, which is great, and all of the art, which is amazing. You really have to spend time reading the Kabuki stuff because he packs so much in there. Seriously, the art alone…you could frame those pages they’re so beautiful.

    Then since she got me started on Kabuki, the guy at the comics store recommended all this other stuff. The writers I like are Gaiman, Bendis, Mack, and Brian K. Vaughn. Vaughn wrote this series about the last man on earth, which I thought was a really great story. Basically some kind of virus wipes out all males from all species except for this one guy and his pet monkey, who is also a male. Everyone else is female. And so it’s about the world after that. Really interesting.

    I have read something by Joss Whedon…I think he wrote one of the Avengers things, and maybe something else? I’m not sure. I think he’s a really good writer…he’s got wit. πŸ™‚ I’ve never watched Buffy though.

    I originally started reading comics again because they’re like the perfect little package of story and art…and they require such little time commitment! lol. But like I said, I haven’t read comics for a while now. Ah well.

  12. Emma-Lu Says:

    My Dad used to read ‘TinTin’ to my brother and I. I just loved it, because he would put on different voices like Captain Haddock’s ‘Blistering Barnacles!’ and then even little Snowy – TinTin’s doggy..
    Also the Archie comics I read religiously.. loved the Betty, Veronica adventures.

  13. Sarah Says:

    i like manga:) my favs are dramacon, mars, and kodocha (i think that is how it is spelled). i really like how it is a story, but it is shown thru drawings instead of words! it is a nice way to relax when i am sick of hauling big books around with tiny print. also the manga books based on Shakespeare (so its like sparknotes, manga style) make it so much easier to understand what is going on, and is a good refreasher!

Leave a Reply

