Brainercise: Café Mocha edition

Okay, so the second brainteaser from my family dinner.  My cousin told me this one while I was having café mocha.

Which way is the bus moving: left or right (across the page)?

Of course, you need to justify your answer.

And just in case you were wondering:

  • The diagram you see has vertical symmetry (left and right sides of the picture are the same).
  • No, the bus isn’t moving out of the page, or into to page, or diagonally, or in circles, or twisting, rotating, moving at light speed, morphing into different shapes, etc.
  • Yes, it’s a bus…a regular bus, from this planet, not dropped off by aliens.  Geez.

I’ll post my answer (which is also the answer my cousing agreed with) in the comments next week.  My answer to last week’s brainteaser is comment #18.

Happy thinking!

Tags:

17 Responses to “Brainercise: Café Mocha edition”

  1. kristina Says:

    I’m thinkin the bus isn’t moving at all…

  2. taylor nikole Says:

    hahah geez kathy… you and your aliens :-p

  3. Emma-Lu Says:

    Stunning decor on the cuppacino mocha btw, talk about artisanry! Ok my guess is the bus is moving left, same as we read text, just cos I cant think of a more lateral explanation right now…

  4. Linden Says:

    I just got done taking the ACT… i’m gonna come back and answer this when my brain isn’t fried. 🙂

  5. Binks Says:

    Imma say it goes left too, simply cause the far right wheel doesn’t look symmetrical to me, it looks there’s more space between the right wheel and the edge as opposed to the left wheel.
    It may just be that I’m crazy and I’m partly delusional cause I just woke up, haha…..sooo yeah.
    *Goes off singing: “The wheels of the bus go round and ’round! round and ’round!…”* 😛

  6. G Says:

    It’s going left, because you can’t see the door.

  7. taylor nikole Says:

    i agree with binks.. ive been thinking about this
    and my only reasonable explanation
    is that i can’t see in my mind the bus moving the other way…
    welll
    hmm
    unless we are at a bus stop
    in which case the bus would be closer to us
    and then… it would be going to the right in the US…
    but to the left in like europe
    *ponders*

  8. Patrizio Says:

    Since there is no door of entry to the bus should go to the left (except that English is !!!).

    But we can not say that it should be left because it could also be parked or it might go right because it is doing a reverse. 🙂

    We would have to say that I do not see people inside the bus also is not inclined (which might suggest that both acceleration and braking) and then my final answer is: <>

  9. Patrizio Says:

    Since there is no door of entry to the bus should go to the left (except that English is !!!).

    But we can not say that it should be left because it could also be parked or it might go right because it is doing a reverse. 🙂

    We would have to say that I do not see people inside the bus also is not inclined (which might suggest that both acceleration and braking) and then my final answer is: The bus is stopped

  10. mcd Says:

    the bus is moving for left, because i can”t see the door.

  11. mcd - BRAZIL Says:

    the bus is moving for left, because i can”t see the door

  12. Ashley Says:

    I think it’s moving to the right because if you look at it…like I can sort of see the front of the bus at the right so it’s gonna to be going to the right. I think.

  13. Nakisa Says:

    Ok, this is my logic:

    If there is vertical symmetry at precisely the middle of the bus (let’s call this the axis of symmetry) then that mean’s either both ends of the bus are contain an engine or that neither of the ends contain an engine and that they are simply the end of the bus.

    In which case, if both ends of the bus contain an engine, because of the axis of symmetry the engines must be working in equal but opposite directions, meaning they are tearing the bus apart where the left side is moving left and the right side is moving right (with respects to the axis of symmetry). Or, because the engine is supposed to propel the bus forward, the bus is being compressed from both sides.

    But if neither of the ends have engines the bus is simply not moving at all because it hasn’t the means to.

  14. eddy Says:

    Since you are talking about a Canadian bus and the door is on the other side (since we can’t see it) it is moving towards the left. If it were moving towards the right we would see the door. Unless of course it’s reversing, which does not happen very often with buses, unless (!) it’s been dropped off by aliens and it always reverses because the aliens have eyes in the back of their heads and since the aliens made it all the way to earth with this bus, it must be a very, very quick bus, probably driving close to the speed of light, not at the speed of light though, because then we wouldn’t be able to see it. Oh.. just read the rules, I guess it’s just a regular, forward-driving, Canadian bus with a normal, human driver with the eyes in the right place, facing the left side of this page since that’s the direction the bus is driving. Phew..

  15. Mariana Says:

    I don’t know why you complicate things… It ain’t really moving… I don’t know about you but I just see the image standing still in the middle of the page… not going anywhere… 😛

  16. Janine Says:

    Dang you guys are smart, or I’m really dumb either way. I dunno. I just didn’t think about the bus door lol. But I did think it was going left anyways, just because the bus looks like its going left to me so HAH! I was right ; D

  17. Kathy Says:

    lol…I love reading your answers. 😀 Very creative.

    And I apologize for not making it clear that the bus is indeed moving (not parked), and that it was moving in the forward direction (not reverse). And the vertical symmetry was referring to just that side of the bus we see in the picture, not the actual mechanical structure (so only one engine Nakisa…very nice though). Very sharp people, very sharp. 🙂

    My answer was “It depends” and my justification was that you couldn’t see the doors in the picture. If you’re in a place like the States, then the bus should be left because drivers are on the left side of the vehicle and doors are on the right side of the bus. If, however, the drivers are on the right side of the vehicle and the doors are on the left side, then the bus should be moving right. That’s what I think anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

