Movie Madness Monday: Wall-E

When this movie first came out, Kristin went to see it and IMd me after it was over, totally awe-inspired by the movie. In fact, she said “wall-e is sooooo good!” I didn’t see it until recently after it came out on DVD and I have to say that I wholeheartedly agree!

The movie was amazing considering there was probably like 20 lines of dialogue in the whole movie mostly consisting of “Wall-E” and “Eve.” The graphics work felt perfectly fit for the sci-fi nature of the film and “Eve’s” design felt like a real possibility. I’m such a geek!

More so than the cinemetography of the film, it’s also packed with a punch that’s easy to swallow. Okay, so it’s packed with multiple punches, starting with a love story reaching beyond differences, to environmental protection, to our ever-increasing ideology of a fast-food society and what that could mean when taken to an extreme. For me, one of the more poignant points was, indeed, the latter. It feels like citizens are always always looking for the absolutely most easiest route to take, and with the building of our technology, many are choosing to let technology do things that they could easily do. I’m totally guilty of this too. I’ve been in fast-food mode for the last couple of years and even on my diet my food has been what I consider “healthy” fast-food (hellllloooo Subway!). So now I’m thinking… what’s so bad about taking initiative and cooking, grocery shopping, and enjoying the fruits of my efforts in that way rather than running out to the nearest “healthy” fast-food place? I wonder if I’ll enjoy it more.

So, what stuck out for you?

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Movie Madness Monday: Wall-E”

  1. Robby Says:

    I saw Wall-E when it was still in theaters. It is a great movie, and much like movies of this type it’s actually got a good message disguised as a kid’s movie.

    I’m sure everyone recognizes Johnny 5 in Wall-E too 😉 I got over it.

    It’s a good movie. See it if you haven’t.

  2. LI Says:

    I saw it!
    Magical movie, you all should see it
    :))))))))))))

  3. Ashley Says:

    Wall-E!!!! YA!!!!!

    Amazing!!! Love ya Tabs.

  4. Kailin Says:

    Welcome back, Tabby!

    Very good movie choice. I’m almost embarrassed to say I love this movie more than my 2-year-old! Of course, she didn’t understand the beauty of sophisticated animation meshed with a sweet story. What she did love was the eye-candy graphics, the fact that this was a movie about robots (yes, she’s like Mom – a super Geek Gal), and the sound effects (which she thought was funny.)

    So gotta love this film because it turned this kid at heart’s heart into mush.

    @ Tabby – Hang in there with the diet. I, too, am trying to get to a certain ideal weight (post-baby) so we gals have to hang in there and support each other! We can do it! Yeah yeah yeah.

  5. taylor nikole Says:

    hehe we saw it two days before it came out
    and all of my friends were bugging me to find out all about it 🙂
    it was a really cute movie
    since then… ive seen it like 10 times…
    mostly due to my little brother playing it over and over again

  6. Binks Says:

    WALL-E!!! *squeals*

    I’m a sucker for Pixar. So the last 3 pixar movies that have come out I have had to see on my own because no one wanted to see them with me -_- This was one of them 😛 I had been DYING to see it every time the previews would appear and you’d hear him say his name. So cute.

    I absolutely LOVED it. Everything sticken thing was awesome. The colors, the fact that Eve was one kick-@ss chick robot, everyone had left Earth like a dump and had turned fat and lazy. The only thing kinda bothersome to me, cause of my dread of insects was the cockroah as a friend….>_>….but even that had meaning…so I couldn’t really complain, cause really, they are the only ones who could survive in the environment, even under nuclear warfare. So it made sense. I liked how Wall-E adored Eve from the start but it took her more time to realize her feelings, after he showed he was kind and sweet and developed a very unique personality due to his solitude. For a second I thought it would end sadly and I was like “NOOOOOOO!!!” and got all teary eyed, but alas it ended happy so I was happy 😛
    There are a lot of underlying issues adressed. Our dependance on technology, our ignorance of the environment and other issues. One of the strongest slaps in the face I got was how every person was too absorbed in their own little techno spheres that everything around us was deteriorating without us even knowing it. Like technological advancements were nice but they made us lazy and they made us not see the true beauty life had to offer cause u lived in ur little computer bubble. Also how the computer wanted to take over us, it liked being in control. I thought was a nice touch. The whole movie had a lot of symbology and great messages that I think we all need to listen to.

  7. Ash Says:

    Hahaha.. silly Wall-E. =P

  8. Leslie Says:

    my sister and dad went to the world premiere of this in los angeles. they said it was really cute.
    i wonder if kristen was there??

  9. Kathy Says:

    FIRST of all Ms. Chapman, it’s called Movie Madness MONDAY and you posted on TUESDAY.  Why you gotta be crowding News Day Tuesday’s space like dat?  You tell Movie Madness Monday that I’m sorry she’s feeling a bit insecure lately what with the spotty attention she’s been given over the past several weeks, but that doesn’t mean she should be stealing some of News Day Tuesday’s spotlight.  😉
     
    Second, WALL-E ROCKS!!  Definitely my favorite animated movie, and probably one of my favorite movies of all time, except I’ve never really taken the time to think about what my favorite movies are, but I really really really liked WALL-E.  The message about the environment was a little heavyhanded for me, but I understand why they did it that way since the movie was also meant for little kids to watch.  But whatever dude.  The fact that they could make such a moving story about robots who only say each other’s names and the word “directive” is amazing.
     
    Third, I actually don’t think there’s anything wrong with the idea of fast food.  I think the real problem is how American society determines value.  In my opinion, fast food is popular because it’s cheap, quick, convenient, and tasty.  These are all fine qualities, but what about our health, the environment, and ethical business practices?  These things are not usually reflected in the prices we see.  Someone once brought up the idea of having a secondary pricing scheme in which all of these “hidden” costs are taken into account, so that we have a better idea of the true price of things.  For example, if you compare the cost of a big hamburger from a typical fast food chain to the cost of an organic salad from somewhere else, the hamburger will probably be cheaper.  But if you take other things into account…like who makes healthy food, who uses reusable or biodegradable containers, who uses responsibly made ingredients, who pays workers a living wage, etc…then it’s possible that the hamburger winds up costing us more.  But I do think it’s possible to have a thriving fast food industry that benefits our society.  The good thing about fast food is the focus on efficiency, so it might actually save energy and resources to eat fast food as opposed to having each person prepare individual meals.
     
    Fourth, not only does WALL-E rock, but Tabby does too for posting this review.  🙂

  10. MarilyneL Says:

    ” I see La vie en rose!” haha I was used to the French version of it 😛 Nice movie with an unconvient truth hehe

    Planète Terre, je t’aime! ❤

Leave a Reply

