Brainercise: I dunno what to call this edition

Hey there GBD!  My answer to last week’s brainteaser is comment #17.

Also, for the first brainteaser, Binks was gracious enough to bless us with her wisdom by asking us to redirect our attention to that which is truly important.  She asked: “Since the answer is out, can we have the choco cake now?”

My dear Binks…so young, yet so wise.  Who cares about brainteasers when there’s CAKE???  I hear dat my sista, I hear dat.  But sadly, the Internet has not yet evolved to the point where I can deliver yummy cake to you through your computer screens.  This tragic state of affairs makes me wonder about my government’s priorities.  Why are we spending so much money fighting a war in Iraq when we SHOULD be figuring out how to eat cake through the internet??  Seriously.

Anyway, since I can’t deliver cake to you, I thought I’d do the next best thing and find an easy recipe that shows you how to make it yourself.  So here it is (courtesy of Gale Gand):

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8 ounces plus 6 tablespoons butter (butter wrappers usually have markings on them with these measurements so it’s easy for you to tell)
  • 10 ounces bittersweet chocolate
  • 6 yolks (just the egg yolks, not the egg whites)
  • 6 eggs (so this means you need 12 eggs altogether – 6 for just the yolks, 6 for the whole egg)
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup flour

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Melt the chocolate and butter together.
  2. Cool slightly.
  3. As the chocolate-butter mixture is cooling, in a separate bowl, whisk together the yolks and eggs then mix in the powdered sugar.
  4. Whisk this into the chocolate-butter mixture, then whisk in the flour.
  5. Fill 12 greased 4-ounce foil tins with the batter and refrigerate until ready to bake, or bake immediately.
  6. Bake in a preheated 450 degree F oven for 5 to 6 minutes from cold, or 4 to 5 minutes from room temperature.
  7. Turn out of tins immediately onto the plate.

I know molten chocolate cake seems fancy and complicated to make, but it’s really not.  The hardest thing is probably melting the chocolate.  The rest is just mixing stuff together, and your oven handles the rest.  So give it a try!  If you’ve never melted chocolate before, most people do it by putting the chocolate into a metal bowl or pot and stirring over another pot of simmering (almost boiling, but not boiling boiling) water.  Don’t burn yourself though.  Use an oven mitt or something.  Also, when whisking things in, you should add whatever you’re adding slowly and gradually so as to reduce the number of clumps.  And you don’t have to use foil tins if you don’t have any.  Some people use those those cupcake or muffin baking pans.  The recipe also includes instructions for making a cream topping and a mint sauce.  Go here.

If I hear of any other brainteasers, I’ll let you know.  Or if you know any, let me know.  lol.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Brainercise: I dunno what to call this edition”

  1. eddy Says:

    Since I’m not much of a cook, here’s one of my favorite brain teasers:
    There are three light bulbs in a room with no windows. You are outside next to the three switches. Each switch controls one bulb. You can only enter the room once, and when you do, you have to know which switch controls witch light bulb.

    P.S. All light bulbs and switches work properly. You cannot see into the room or hear the light bulbs turn on or telepathically feel the light from the bulbs. Nobody can help you, not even a robot. Even if the light bulbs were dropped off by aliens, they still work like human ones. There are no different levels of light, the bulbs are either on or off. You may not destroy the walls to see how the light bulbs are connected, besides, if they were dropped off by aliens, then they don’t have any wires, they transfer the electricity through the air.

    Good luck! Oh, you’ve got 3 minutes left, then the aliens have to go back home and they’re taking the light bulbs with them and no, they won’t tell you the answer because they don’t speak human yet, they communicate telepathically and you don’t do that, remember? Did I say good luck?

  2. Binks Says:

    I see my name and chocolate so I come running 😀 …..and den I saw cooking O_O I will either A) Murder someone by accident with my baking abilities or B) Burn the house down.

    haha it does seem easier to make than I thought though, maybe I can try to make it, itd be fun. But I will need parental guidance and a fire extinguisher just in case 😛

    OoOOoo, I agree sending cake through the internet should be priority above all. *nods*
    Thanks for da recipe dude. xD

  3. taylor nikole Says:

    hahaha BONKS!

Leave a Reply

