SNOW!!


(View from my window this morning. That red, reliable friend of mine is Carmen.)

Do you know what happened yesterday?  It was the first snowstorm of the season for New York!  Whoohoo!  And by New York, I mean the NYC Metro area.  Not places like Buffalo, NY, which is way up north, bordering Canada.  That place gets 20 feet of snow in, like, August.

A lot of New Yorkers don’t like the snow.  They don’t like the winter actually.  I understand.  It’s cold, and wet, and cold.  And the snow gets dirty quickly in NYC, so it doesn’t stay pretty for that long.  But whatever!  I still like winter and snow very much.  The two best things about snow are snowmen (snowpeople?) and sledding!  Whoohoo!  I used to go skiing all the time with my family, but quite frankly, it takes too much effort to go skiing.  All that equipment.  Those awful stiff boots.  The driving there and back, the trekking back and forth.  Ugh.  Then snowboarding became really popular, but I never got into that because by then I’d had my fill of skiing.  You know what my favorite part about skiing was?  Besides drinking hot chocolate in the cafeteria?  Taking one of the plastic trays from the cafeteria to go sledding!  Whoohoo!

I also like building snowmen.  I did build a snowwoman once.  The snowwoman is actually the only one that kind of had a personality.  As the snow melted, her upper body started moving forward, so each day, it looked like she was bowing lower and lower to us…to show us deeper and deeper respect.  Very Asian of her.  Appropriate since the people who built her are Asian.  😉

Speaking of Asians and building things out of snow, you know who else takes snow seriously?  The Japanese.  Every year they have the Sapporo Snow Festival.  Just to give you an idea of how seriously they take their snow…look at what they built in 2004:


Snow sculpture of the Taj Mahal. (photos: Douglas S. Mann)

Look what they built last year:


Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian


Relics of Egypt


Inuyama Castle

And look at the all the snowpeople they made!

Alrighty.  That’s enough snow stuff from me today.  If you’d like to see more pics of the Sapporo Snow Festival, go here.  There are some other cool snow sculptures from various competitions here and here.

Yeah snow!

Tags: ,

16 Responses to “SNOW!!”

  1. jessica f Says:

    I’m so jealous you have snow, Kathy! Snowmen are hard to build sometimes! Those pics of the japanese snow sculptures are breathtaking. My favorite are the thousands of wee little snowbabies. haha. Thanks for sharing!

  2. taylor nikole Says:

    hahah im so jealous of your snow -_-
    i want it to snow here like ONCE
    but noooo
    when you live a mile away from the beach
    it doesn’t work that way
    LOL

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I’m in NY and the amount of snow we got in the amount of time we got it is really astonishing. As pretty as it is to look at, the fact that I am the official snow-shoveler in my house pretty much sucks all the fun out of the beauty of winter.

  4. jessica f Says:

    tay, you should come up to norcal. a few miles up from me is tahoe, snowboarding central for all us norcal-ers. 🙂 jen, I wished it snowed regularly in CA. That would be a dream come true for many of us :/

  5. MarilyneL Says:

    Yeah snow, yeah snowstorms…more precisely when I was a kid: a lot of snow meant no school hehe! but now, there is still school, work, whatever…meaning you have to drive in bad conditions..and sometimes have an accident 😛 ahah This year, every vehicule in Quebec has to be on winter tires, and I think it’s a good thing actually 😛 Yet, we have received 3 or 4 snowstorms! yes, already 😛 The trees are beautiful when recovered with snow, love it 😀

  6. Danny the Only Bloke Says:

    Am I the only one here who hates snow with a violent hatrid?

    I won’t leave the house when it snows, I just stay in until it melts.

    One of my overriding memories of my childhood, well, early teens really is walking what seemed like miles (in fact in was about a mile and a half) to school with the school bullies (i.e. the other 999 people in my school) all throwing snowballs down the back of my shirt collar.

    For the record I live in england and we get snow a lot more often than a lot of you north american types.

    Unfortunately.

    Bring on the ‘lack of snow’ I say

    Sorry, rant over

    Danny the only bloke

  7. Binks Says:

    woah…..

    that’s awesome! 😀

  8. Ash Says:

    Holly macroll those are totally incredible! 🙂

  9. Chris Says:

    these are simply breathtaking scriptures.

    haha a lot of people don’t like the snow because it creates complications while driving but I loveeee it. The snow gives us a new change of scenery 🙂

    Forget Cali peeps… NYC is where its at 😀

  10. kristina Says:

    I live in Texas.
    We don’t get snow here.
    We get ICE.
    And freakin 20 minutes later, it’s 80 degrees outside.
    Ugh Texas is so weird.

  11. Gina Says:

    Wow, those snow towers are amazing!

    It snowed here, too. In Connecticut. We got a pretty big storm.

  12. Jenipher Says:

    That is awesome! Thanks for sharing Kathy!

  13. Nana Says:

    I love snow! It’s so pretty! I just don’t like the cold…

  14. Jaymie Says:

    All I can say is…”Whoa…those are some crazy, beautiful snow sculptures.”
    Anyway, I love snow! I just wish that it snows here where I live, but I guess not…it is SoCal. Well, thanks for sharing! =D

  15. Emma-Lu Says:

    Those sculptures are just too incredible! the detail!!! wow.
    I LOVE snow, but that’s probably cuz I come from a very very warm climate.. we have a HOT Christmas during our summer here in SA… ahh the prettiness of snow.. sigh xx

  16. AlyssaMarie Says:

    I live in the NYC metro area and I love the snow. I just dont like going to work in the middle of a snow storm. I actually went out with a few of my friends to a comedy club the next evening after the snow storm, as the news team called it. I didnt think it was that bad. Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow!
    I dont like to shovel though!Yuk!!

    Those pictures of the snow sculptures are beautiful!! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

