20 Answers

The questions are listed in the order they were asked.

1.  How did you get involved with GBD? (Zanna, MarilyneL)
I’d like to think it was because the women in charge were dazzled by my charm and wit, but I’m pretty sure the reality is that they simply got tired of my emails.  I am, you see, a bit of a news/internet junkie, and I kept sending them links to articles that I thought were interesting.  So finally, I think they just got fed up one day and said: “Dude, listen.  If we let you do News Day Tuesday, will you leave us alone??”  Except they were much warmer and nicer about it.  Plus, the prospect of wielding that kind of power over News Day Tuesday…it was intoxicating to say the least.  And so here I am.  In fact, I am drunk with power as I write these very words.

I know that lately I’ve been posting more than just the news on Tuesday, but that’s only because the rulers of this domain seem to have their hands full at the moment, and I didn’t want you to come to the blog and not have anything to check out.  So you’re just gonna hafta deal with me in the meantime.  Mwahahaha!

2.  Tell us everything about you. (Danny the Only Bloke)
I believe this qualifies as more of a command than a question, and so, as per the initial agreement, I’m not obligated to comply.  Think of this as a blessing though.  Telling you everything about me would bore you to tears.

3.  Do you like toffee? (G)
I do.  I very much like that combination of buttery, caramel-like goodness.  But I rarely eat toffee.  I don’t eat much candy since I usually only eat it when it’s offered to me, and I’m rarely offered toffee.

4.  What do you do for a living? (Chris)
As in how do I pay the bills?  Two things: I work in a hospital and I tutor.  But if you meant “a living” in a deeper, purpose-of-life sense, both of these jobs contribute to that as well.

5.  Pepsi or Coca Cola? (Chris)
Coca Cola.  But I usually don’t drink soda because it always makes me hiccup.

6.  Sly Stallone – Rocky or Rambo? (Danny the Only Bloke)
As further proof of my lameness, I’ve never watched a single Rambo movie.  So I’ll have to go with Rocky.  Although really, my top choice would be Sylvester Stallone himself because I heard that when he was trying to sell his first Rocky script, he wouldn’t agree to a deal unless they let him star in it, even though people kept trying to convince him otherwise.  So kudos to him for believing in himself like that.

7.  Do you have any kids? (Danny the Only Bloke)
No.  I believe parenthood is among the highest honors in life, and I am currently too selfish and too scared to make that commitment.

8.  What is your home address? (I’m only asking so I can stalk you and render you penniless.)(Danny the Only Bloke)
Oh.  Well, in THAT case:
New York Police Department, 13th Precinct, 230 East 21st Street, New York, NY, 10011

9.  What is your favourite comfort food? (Danny the Only Bloke)
This is an extremely difficult question for me to answer because I find that all food made with care gives me comfort.  I think about food all the time.  I can’t think of another art form that encompasses all 5 senses the way food does.  So how to answer this question?

If I had to choose the one ingredient I could not do without, it would be salt because it is the ultimate flavor enhancer.

If I had to choose a single food without which my remaining days would be noticeably dimmer, it would be bacon – cooked to a crisp, but not burnt.

If I had to choose the first cuisine I would long for if I were surrounded by nothing but standard American fare, it would be home-cooked Korean because that is the food I grew up on.

If I had to choose something that gives me comfort out of habit, it would be tea, since I have some almost everyday.

If I had to choose a dish that I could probably eat everyday, but shouldn’t because doing so would most likely lead to cardiovascular disease, then currently, it would be a tie between the soy garlic fried chicken wings from Bon Chon or the roast pork buns from either Ippudo or Momofuku.  And that’s saying something given the fact that I don’t really like pork – except for bacon, food of the gods.

10.  Is ‘Will You Marry Me’ a valid question? (Danny the Only Bloke)
Yes, it is.  I don’t see why it wouldn’t be.

11.  Are you a musician?  (I.E. Do you play any musical intruments, even badly) (Danny the Only Bloke)
I wouldn’t classify myself as a musician, but I did take piano lessons for about a year in 8th grade.  I haven’t touched a piano in years.  My mother, who grew up singing and playing the piano, had urged me for many years before that to take piano lessons, but I refused because I had all these stereotypical notions of mean piano teachers, and I thought I would have to do recitals, which I didn’t want to do because I’ve always disliked performing.  But then it turned out that my piano teacher was probably one of the best teachers you could ask for, and recitals were never even hinted at.  The folly of my youth.  I regret not having started lessons earlier with that teacher, as my mother had insisted, because I truly enjoyed playing and learning how to play.

12.  Chris, why did you steal my question…? (Arelis)
I think there’s been a misunderstanding.  My name is Kathy, not Chris, and I didn’t steal anything.  At least, not recently.

13.  What do you smell like? (G)
Love and sunshine.

14.  What size shoe do you wear? (Ash)
I don’t know.  I suppose my commitment to answer these questions requires that I go and find out.  Alrighty then.  Hang on.

The shoes I currently wear are a pair of Keens, size 8.5.

15.  Do you believe in The Loch Ness Monster? (G)
Not if it’s supposed to be that huge Brontosaurus-looking creature that lives in a lake.

16.  Where do you find all this random stuff for GBD? (Kailin)
I subscribe to at least a couple dozen RSS feeds, ranging from news sites like the BBC and The New York Times, to technology sites like Engadget, to personal blogs like Dooce, etc. etc.  RSS feeds are great because I get them on my cell phone.  I also read magazines like Time, The Week, GOOD, and Scientific American, and medical journals like JAMA and Lancet.  But I don’t actually read every single article I come across.  Through much practice, I’ve become very good at skimming.  Also, my friends and family hook me up with a lot of randomness.

17.  Picture? (Kailin)
You mean a picture of me?  I’m very camera shy, but I did manage to dig up this photo. I know…I’m quite the sexy beast, but I try not to let it get to my head.

18.  Is Kathy your real name or are you really a man? (Kailin)
Well, I guess technically “Kathy” isn’t my real name since it’s not on any of my official documents, but it is the name I go by.  It’s what my friends, family, co-workers, etc. call me.  However, even though “Kathy” isn’t my official real name, I still have all my woman parts, so I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that I’m not really a man.  But it’s possible that I’m delusional and, in fact, really AM a man named Bubba.

19.   Are you a Clana fan? (LI)
Did you mean am I a “Lana” fan, as in Lana Lang?  I don’t know enough about the character to say.  At the risk of being called a traitorous heretic and having shoes thrown at me, I don’t watch “Smallville.”  Given who one of the GBD founders is, I’m not sure if it was wise to admit that.  So if you don’t hear from me again, you’ll know why.

In my defense, I currently don’t watch any TV, and it’s possible that I might be the only person in America who has never seen a single episode of “American Idol” or “Lost” or any of those other shows people are always talking about.  This is neither a political nor a moral statement on my part, but the consequence of having only 24 hours in a single day.  I did, however, skim through the first few seasons of “Smallville” some years ago since my cousin has the DVDs.  Based on that, Lana seems like a good egg.  So, I guess if I’m a Lana fan, I’d be the kind that you fold from a single piece of paper, as opposed to the huge, metallic kind that can blow the skin off your face if you get too close.

20.  What did you do BEFORE you became involved with GBD? (Emma-Lu)
The only thing I can think of that I used to do but don’t do anymore is watch TV.  I also think I procrastinated a lot more.

And that’s that ladies and gentlemen.  Thank you for asking.  It was my pleasure to answer.  🙂

22 Responses to “20 Answers”

  1. taylor nikole Says:

    7. Do you have any kids? (Danny the Only Bloke)
    No. I believe parenthood is among the highest honors in life, and I am currently too selfish and too scared to make that commitment.

    ROFL

  2. taylor nikole Says:

    or if you are under 5 foot like me
    and weight 100 lbs…
    “Is it even possible?”
    *scratches head* jk

  3. Kendra Says:

    Hahahaaha! Soda gives me the hiccups too! You…funny by the way! Thanks for all the posts while I am hanging with Marcus…I have been trying to teach Marcus how to type so he can help me post some new stuff, but he keeps drooling on the key board *geesh* 🙂

  4. taylor nikole Says:

    hahah
    heyyyy
    thats what im doing
    instead of really learning how to really
    make video editing pretty
    im just…
    drooling all over the keyboard 😀

  5. Chris Says:

    bahahaha I am assuming you mean the pepsi vs coca cola q Arelis…tis had to be asked. Its the Q of all questions 😀

    Thanx Kathy for taking the time to answer all our qs 🙂

  6. taylor nikole Says:

    “My name is not Chris”
    muahaha

  7. taylor nikole Says:

    “In my defense, I currently don’t watch any TV, and it’s possible that I might be the only person in America who has never seen a single episode of “American Idol” or “Lost” or any of those other shows people are always talking about. This is neither a political nor a moral statement on my part, but the consequence of having only 24 hours in a single day. I did, however, skim through the first few seasons of “Smallville” some years ago since my cousin has the DVDs. Based on that, Lana seems like a good egg. So, I guess if I’m a Lana fan, I’d be the kind that you fold from a single piece of paper, as opposed to the huge, metallic kind that can blow the skin off your face if you get too close.”

    kathy, i have never seen an episode of lost 😀
    WIN
    hahah

    and how could you deny chloe
    she is just sooo rude 😀
    i love it
    okay loyal and all that other jazz sure, but omg
    so sure of herself that she can be rude and nosey
    how do you deny a character like that?
    muahah

    although dun worry im not crazed about it either
    im still obligated, might as well find a character attachment woooo

  8. Arelis Says:

    Even without trying I got a question in! 😀

  9. LI Says:

    Hi,
    thanks for answering.
    Clana means – Clark and Lana as a couple.
    You know…Superman is always with Lois and i really like him with Lana. I think they are more fit together.
    but if you haven’t watched Smallvile so never mind 😛

  10. LI Says:

    Oh and BTW, there was a time I haven’t had T.V in my house for like 2 years. Ha!
    It was great but then i miss it, so today i have one.

  11. LI Says:

    Happy Hanuca 😛

  12. Kathy Says:

    Ohhhh…I get it!  “Clana”!  Like what they do with celebrity couples…like “Branjelina”!  lol.  But yes, I will nevermind because you’re right…I have no idea.  😉

    And Kendra…really? You hiccup too? I don’t know of anyone else who does. Maybe we should we start a support group. 😉

  13. Auntie Kailin Says:

    Great photo btw. I had an idea you kinda looked like that. So how does your medical career fit into GBD, just curious?

  14. taylor nikole Says:

    i do alot of burping :-p
    when i drink soda
    haha
    no hiccups

    im just gross i guess hahah 😀
    but its okay

  15. G Says:

    Wait a minute….I checked the internet and love and sunshine is not a scent! Did the aliens give it to you?

  16. Kathy Says:

    @ Auntie Kailin – Thank you. I’m pretty sexy, right? And the photo doesn’t even come close to doing me justice. As for the medical career…lol…I’m not sure how it fits in with GBD. I just kind of fell into it somehow. Which probably means that sometime in the near future, decisions will have to be made.

    @ taylor nikole – When you burp, do you move backwards?

    @ G – Is the Loch Ness monster really an alien DISGUISED as the Loch Ness monster? You will never know…mwhahahaaaaa!

  17. G Says:

    And everyone’s worried about alien probes, they don’t even have fingers to operate anything…

  18. t Says:

    So I missed my chance at the Q&A thing, but if you’re still taking unofficial questions, may I ask how you found out about GBD? Just curious, ’cause I know there must be ppl here who have never seen Smallville and even possibly never heard of a certain famous founder, but the majority (at least I think) know of this place because of KK. Just curious how others found GBD 🙂

  19. t Says:

    oh and great job updating the site! you find very interesting stuffs!

  20. taylor nikole Says:

    Kathy- I don’t know if thats sarcastic or serious…
    either way I’m not exactly sure and next time i really “have to” burp
    i will keep it in mind :-p
    hahaha

  21. Kathy Says:

    @ t – I wish I remembered. I think you’re the 3rd person to ask me how I found out about GBD. I’m thinking probably through random internet procrastination that started from a Google search? Except I don’t know what I could’ve been searching for. lol.

    @ taylor nikole – I was being sarcastic. lol. You’ve mentioned that you’re small in stature (but not in personality!), and I was wondering if you were small enough to move backwards from a burp. 😉 Do pay attention next time you burp and report back to me please.

  22. Girls by Design: This is a Blog » Blog Archive » 10 Activities to Help You Make a Change in 2009 Says:

    […] xo K. 2008 was a year of many changes for everyone. GBD co-founder Kristin went through much personal and professional growth as she transitioned from her show Smallville to becoming a businesswoman. She also cut her hair short (link to Kristin’s blog on cutting her hair), which was a very bold move for her, but beautiful. If you have long h air and you’ve never tried a short hairstyle, try it – it feels wonderful, and your hair does grow out. Co-founder Kendra went through physical, emotional, and hormonal changes as she discovered she was pregnant with the most adorable baby. She went from superwoman to superwoman mommy of Marcus. Websurfer Kathy was minding her own business surfing the internet, subscribing to RSS feeds, procrastinating, and watching television shows other than Smallville to taking over the GBD blog in a one-woman domination and enjoying the power. In her own words, “Mwahahaha!” 20 Answers […]

Leave a Reply

