Brainercise: Eddy edition version 2.0

Well hellooooooo there GBD! Hope y’all had a Merry Christmas / Happy Hanukkah / Happy Kwanzaa. Ā  I think Kwanzaa is still going on though, so yay for the continued partying! šŸ™‚

My answer to Eddy’s light bulb brainteaser is comment #14.Ā  Eddy’s answer is comment #13.Ā  And guess what!Ā  Eddy is apparently full of brainteasers because here’s another one!Ā  Thanks again Eddy!Ā  (I’m just copying and pasting again.)

A Sheikh passes away and leaves his 17 camels to his three daughters. According to the family tradition, the oldest daughter should get half (1/2) of the camels, the second oldest one should get a third (1/3) and the youngest daughter should get a ninth (1/9). The daughters have to follow the rules and the camels must of course remain alive.

Seeing how puzzled the three daughters are, their neighbor offers to help them out. How can the neighbor solve their problem.

As you might have guessed, the camels are not aliens, good luck!

*** NOTE ***Ā  I may be wrong (as I often am), but I think the youngest daughter should be getting a sixth (1/6) instead of a ninth (1/9) of the camels, otherwise the math doesn’t work out – I think all of the fractions should add up to 1, which represents all of the camels.Ā  If the youngest daughter gets a ninth instead of a sixth, then there’s still an eighteenth (1/18) of the camels remaining, which I guess is okay, but makes the brainteaser kind of weird.Ā  Anyway, my answer will be based on the assumption that the youngest daughter gets a sixth instead of a ninth, but I suppose it doesn’t really make a difference…you’ll just have leftover camels if you assume a ninth, and no leftover camels if you assume a sixth.Ā  That is, if you’re thinking what I’m thinking.Ā  lol.

Tags:

22 Responses to “Brainercise: Eddy edition version 2.0”

  1. taylor nikole Says:

    and what happens if they are in fact alien camels and you are wrong kathy? eh? eh??

    šŸ˜€

  2. taylor nikole Says:

    ^^
    i know stupid question
    im feeling testy LOL

  3. Allie Says:

    Lol, I would support the alien camel theory too, however, I was confronted with this riddle at a camp I went to once, and it took me ages to figure it out, but the answer in fact, does not have to do with alien camels!

  4. taylor nikole Says:

    hahaha
    that would make it soo much more interesting…
    possibilities endless

  5. Kathy Says:

    WELL taylor nikole, they clearly are NOT alien camels because Eddy SAID they’re not. HOWEVER, that doesn’t mean I’m not wrong. I’m wrong a lot. So you have me there. šŸ˜‰

    The problem with aliens is they make anything possible. In fact, I hereby declare that aliens are officially the cop-out answer and are therefore banned. Mwahahaha! šŸ˜‰

    But I still think E.T. is awesome. šŸ˜€

  6. Allie Says:

    Lol, the idea of an alien camel was cracking me up…and so I ended up drawing one while I was supposed to be working on stuff….
    in essential it’s basically just a camel with alien eyes and a spaceship above it… but oh well…. šŸ˜€

  7. taylor nikole Says:

    what are you thinking! do not ban the aliens!
    they will come down and suck you up into their ship
    with their cool alien technology
    and dissect you
    *smacks forehead*
    have you learned nothing :-p
    haha

  8. taylor nikole Says:

    they must remain alive
    okay
    what if they are hungry?
    and these alien camels provide much more nourishment than regular camels?

    gosh darnit…
    i can’t figure it out
    i can’t do math for my life LOL

  9. eddy Says:

    I just want to point out that the youngest daughter is entitled to a ninth (1/9) of the camels. I know a sixth would make more sense since there are three daughters but when these rules were made ages ago, nobody knew how many children the Sheikh would have, not even the aliens. So:
    17 camels
    1st daughter: 1/2
    2nd daughter: 1/3
    3rd daughter: 1/9
    However, it’s good that you thought of that Kathy, because that means you’re on the right track to solving the problem..

    Good luck!

  10. G Says:

    Ewwww, camels and math.

  11. Kathy Says:

    Allie! Dude! You drew that alien camel that quickly? Dude! Props! Are you an art student or something?

    I like the drawing by the way. The eyes are indeed alien-looking and the spaceships are a nice touch. šŸ™‚

  12. Allie Says:

    Lol, thanks Kathy,
    I’m always scribbling something on paper, my teachers tend to get kind of annoyed with me, because it looks like I’m totally zoning out and drawing while they’re trying to give a lecture.

    Anywho, I don’t really have a major at the moment, but I’ve been thinking about art. Not completely sure though, because I don’t like to be boxed in by any one thing… probably why I haven’t picked a major. šŸ˜€

  13. eddy Says:

    Hehe, I love the to-do list in the background:
    1. Finish website
    2. Make cartoon
    And nice drawing too!

  14. Allie Says:

    @Eddy
    yeah, I have to make to-do lists otherwise I literally would never get anything finished….I’m easily distracted. šŸ˜€ I still have like10 other things on that list to finish…well basically I have the entire list yet to do…lol…as I have yet to finish the first 2! šŸ˜€

  15. taylor nikole Says:

    hahh allie i just saw that!
    lol
    my phone doesn’t show me links
    when i post from there! lol

  16. eddy Says:

    @Allie
    I guess you are just like me. I always tend to do the least important things on the list, no matter how complicated they are. I’m not sure if that’s procrastinating or just being weird..

    By the way, I really like your site!

  17. Allie Says:

    @Eddy- yeah, I always have to force myself to do the most important first, just because I know it really takes a TON of stress off each time I get something big done like that.

    Thanks! I’m going to update it sometime soon, but that is like at the bottom of my list in order of importance. šŸ˜€

  18. logan Says:

    1/2,1/3,1/9 have the common denominator of 18
    2 is multiple of 18, 9 times. 3=6, and 9=2. Add 9+6+2=17. Which is 17/18th i know it works out better if using 1/6 instead of 1/9, but does the 17 represent the total estate or just what he gave his 3 daughters. Just how i would calculate the question.

  19. eddy Says:

    The Sheikh had exactly 17 camels. The oldest daughter should get 1/2, the middle daughter should get 1/3 and the youngest daughter should get 1/9. The neighbor offers to help. How?

  20. eddy Says:

    Here’s my answer:
    The neighbor offered to lend the daughters one of his own camels. Since they now had 18, the oldest daughter could get half (9), the middle one could get a third (6) and the youngest one could get a ninth (2). Since 9+6+2=17, there would be one camel left so they could give it back to the neighbor. Taa daa!

    Alright, to keep the tradition alive, here’s another brainteaser:

    Kathy wants to send something to Kristin in Thailand. She has a safe box which she can put locks on and send, but if she locks it, Kristin won’t be able to open it. She could send a key in the unlocked box and call Kristin and tell her to take the key and send the box back but then someone might copy the key or just take it. So how can Kathy and Kristin solve this problem?

  21. Kathy Says:

    Ok, so Eddy said that those fractions in the brainteaser are right. In that case, this is what I think. I think that there needs to be 18 camels in order for them to be divided up among the daughters according to their father’s instructions. Otherwise, with just 17 camels, one of those camels is going to get chopped up and die, and we can’t have that happen. So, I think that the way the neighbor helps them is that he is a camel breeder! Yup! So he figures out which 2 camels among the 17 are ready to mate, gets them together, and voila! Some months later, the 18th camel is born. Now they can divide the camels in nice, whole camel numbers: the oldest gets 1/2, or 9 camels; the middle gets 1/3, or 6 camels; and the youngest gets 1/9, or 2 camels. So far, that’s 17 camels given to the daughters. As a sign of their gratitude and appreciation, the daughters give the 18th camel to the neighbor for helping them out.

  22. enrico Says:

    getting one more camel from a neighbor wasn’t included in the text. => teacher’s fault.

Leave a Reply

