Movie Madness Mondays “MARLEY & ME”

Yo Yo Ladies!

Here is a Movie Review from the fabulous Taylor Nikole!

Heck ya! I am so pulling this review out spur of the moment! Although I will admit that writing it is totally worth it because this movie was soooo awesome… not to mention ninety-five percent of the people in the theatre were sobbing by the end of the movie. Usually I would laugh at this, but… uhh I was actually part of that ninety five percent. Yes, this movie was an absolute tear jerker. Lets just say, after this movie I went home and gave my doggies a big hug and lots of kisses.

Some people would say “gag me now” at the though of a ‘gushy’ movie, but dudes go see it! Like NOW! Okay thanks! I mean how often do you get a two love stories in one movie? Most of the time when there are two love stories… the story doesn’t end too well in one persons favor. You have the love story of a couple and the ‘love story’ that is ultimately created when the couple adopts their first puppy, Marley. In this movie everyone wins… yet at the same time loses, which may not sound exactly appealing to some, but it’s ultimately a story about learning (all about learning) to love, adjust, and give up what you love for the people/pets you care most about More than anything I thought this movie taught important life lessons (to me) and how each viewer interpreted this varies (although I still hope everyone who sees this movie takes something out of it).

I always like to put a little about the movie for the people who have heard nothing about the movie (yes there are people like that)… so here it goes:

Marley & Me follows the story of a married couple John Grogan and Jenny Vogt (Grogan) who move to South Florida after their wedding. Jenny has a plan set out, which she describes to John on their wedding night (mind you he is a man… therefore he freaks out, although for some reason I don’t blame him)… first there is finding the right guy, then there is getting married, after that there is moving to a warmer place (aka the reason why they moved to South Florida), next there is getting a job in the city, then find a house and last but not least pop out a couple kids and live happily ever after. Of course John is the good husband and wants to make his wife happy therefore he decides he might as wel try out the fathering business… but his best guy friend intervenes telling him that he should get her a puppy instead. He tells John that he won’t have to take care of it, Jenny will end up doing so and instead of becoming a lifeless family man he will become a master. John decides its better to go with the puppy idea (duh) and they get a puppy whom they nickname ‘clearance puppy’ since they got him for a flat rate of two hundred dollars opposed to his brothers and sisters who were about three hundred. Soon after they find out why he was the ‘clearance puppy’. Marley is the worst dog in the world and seemingly not trainable, which leads John to have great writing material for a ‘twice a week column’ which he inherits from a writer at his work.

I’ve said enough and you will have to go see it to hear the rest, because I am evil like that. Okay, and my life lesson(s) I took from the movie are ones that you could take from any story that involves a compassionate and caring relationship between family. First, I learned that although you may want to kill your family they are the best things that will ever happen to you… and will always be the ones staying by you through everything (cliché I know, but so true).Second, (and this is more personal) the most stupid and frustrating situations you come across with your family will always be the ones that you grow the most from… and will always be the ones laughed about and

remembered for years to come. And last but not least, always value what you have. This movie taught all of those lessons, it was about learning what you appreciate and valuing the relationships you have while you still have them (Aka value the present).

So here is my question to you guys (yes a question is necessary and a perfect spark for conversation):

Who/what do you value the most in life and what would you do and how would you feel if you knew before hand you were going to lose it/them?

(I feel a lot of the tears from the viewers had come from personal experience)

By the way guis… this book was based on a book written by the actual John Grogan (and not Owen Wilson). I’m definitely going to check that out on my next visit to the book store.

Love,

Taylor Nikole

Tags: , ,

11 Responses to “Movie Madness Mondays “MARLEY & ME””

  1. taylor nikole Says:

    hahah holy… i sent this like 5 minutes ago!
    thats almost scary

    “Here is a Movie Review from the fabulous Taylor Nikole!”

    shucks 😀 id like to thinks so

    *cricket cricket*

  2. Lena Says:

    Very lovely review. I must say I am really looking forward to seeing the movie. The book was amazing and you should definitely read it, I loved it. As for your question…I probably value my friends and family the most and if I knew I was going to lose either of them I would do anything in my power to try and stop it. Haha that was a cliche answer but it is true…and I can’t think of a better way to put it. =]

  3. jessica f Says:

    OMG Tay, I just watched this yesterday night! I LOVED IT! You must’ve read my mind. Reminded me of my Teddy the entire time! You did a great job with the review! *clap clap* Very detailed and accurate!

    In an attempt to answer your question:
    1. I value family and my pets the most. As typical as that sounds. I use to be a crazy, disrespectful teen until I left home for college. Ever since then, I realized how much my parents gave up for me. My younger sister is my absolute soulmate/best friend. My three dogs are my other sibs 🙂

    2. If I knew I was going to lose them, I would try everything in my power to keep them from leaving. I would cherish every breath, smile, laugh, hug, and conversation with them. I would also cry my eyes out like a baby though.

    I really loved this movie because I think 90% of the population could relate to it. I was bawling like a baby during the movie. I felt embarrassed, but then saw everyone else in the theater crying. This movie does a great job in teaching appreciation and unconditional love.

    Bravo Marley and Me!

  4. Robby Says:

    I thought about watching this. I’m still on the fence though. I haven’t seen about 5 of the movies everyone is talking about. “Revolutionary Road”, “The Wrestler”, “Slumdog Millionaire”, “Milk”…. 😛

  5. taylor nikole Says:

    Go WATCH ALL OF THEM!
    you need some
    movie culture etc fill!
    yep and we are here to help
    haha

  6. Robby Says:

    I see a movie once a week 😀 I see A LOT of movies. I don’t get every movie though, especially not here in the mountains like where I used to live.

    If I could see more I’d probably open a movie review site 🙂

  7. Kathy Says:

    Great review Taylor Nikole!  I’m the type who rolls her eyes at gushy movies, but you’ve convinced me to go watch it anyway.  You said you write movie reviews for your school paper, right?  You should keep it up cuz you’re good at it.  🙂

  8. taylor nikole Says:

    thanks kathy!
    Ohh I do!
    Although, this is way cooler since I’m able to write first person, be ‘looser’ and have more fun with it 😀
    my first review on gbd was like a trial… to see if i could even write in first person reviewing

    and now i LOVE IT!

  9. Ash Says:

    I heard the dog(Marley) dies… is that true… Idk if I want to go see it if he dies. 😦

  10. Sarah Says:

    Marley and me is AWESOME! i cried like a baby

  11. C Says:

    Totally balled my eyes out at the end. I mean I knew what was going to happen but ughhhh when he said those 5 words ” you were a great dog” my eyes were filled with tears.

    Sorry if that gives anything away peeps.

    Good movie go see it.
    Great review too :]

Leave a Reply

