Concrete Illusions

Have any of you seen Julian Beever’s work?  He’s an artist who is probably best known for his optical illusion pavement drawings, like the ones below.


White Water Rafting by Julian Beever


Batman and Robin by Julian Beever


Meeting Madame Butterfly by Julian Beever


Worldcard by Julian Beever

I don’t know how he does it because it’s hard enough drawing something big on pavement.  But Beever not only draws these big works on pavement, he has to draw them warped so that they have that optical illusion effect.  For example, this is how one of his drawings, called Make Poverty History, looks head-on:

But this is how that same drawing looks from the side:

People never cease to amaze me.

You can see more of Julian Beever’s pavement drawings here.  He also has examples of his wall murals and fine art paintings on his site.

Tags:

11 Responses to “Concrete Illusions”

  1. Hammad Says:

    Wow. This dude has mad skills.

  2. MarilyneL Says:

    Amazing! I just cannot understand how he does to draw from a certain angle, knowing it has to look a certain way at the right angle…

  3. kristina Says:

    That’s so cool! i wish i could do that

  4. Monique Says:

    thats is amazing hahaha

  5. jessicaf Says:

    I’ve seen these before! DEFINITELY cool shite!! I love the rafting one. Amazing!

  6. Chris Says:

    very kewl stuff there

  7. natalie Says:

    that is so sick!! i love his work its so fascinating!!
    <3natalie

  8. taylor nikole Says:

    dude
    i saw something like this at venice beach once
    when the guy was drawing it 😀
    it was amazing to watch….
    i mean i stood there forever…
    maybe because I have this absolute love for art..
    but then again, who wouldn’t want to watch?

  9. Allie Says:

    I’ve seen these before as well!
    We looked at all of his work in my AP art class my senior year! They are SOOO cool. Perspective is such a tricky thing! I don’t think I would be able to get it quite right.

  10. Binks Says:

    ohh I’ve seen this chalk stuff before, but I’m always left amazed anyways, no matter how many times I look at it 😛 It’s really pretty awesome.

  11. G Says:

    Niiiiiiiice.

Leave a Reply

