Monday Madness Mondays “Becoming Jane”

Hello all JessicaF here! I am really new at this, so forgive me for being a bit nervous. One of my New Years resolutions was to be brave and put myself out there. So, here I am! The movie we’ll be reviewing tonight is Becoming Jane, which is a biographical snapshot of the early years of Jane Austen’s life.

I chose this movie because I felt that it really relates to all of us in some aspects, and it also relates to many of the positive things that Girls By Design encourages us to do- to be inspired, to be creative and artistic, and to follow our dreams/passions. Plus, the love story of Ms. Austen is the center of the entire film! (Yay, love story!) Most importantly though, Jane Austen is one the most influential female writers in history, publishing world renown books like “Pride and Prejudice” and “Sense and Sensibility”. *WOOT* Talk about some girl power! In fact, some of you lucky GBD members may be currently reading her novels in your high school English classes. So let’s get out our feather pens, ink wells, and old English dictionaries, as we take it back a few centuries!

This movie focuses solely on Jane as the main character. It starts off in the late 1700s where we find Jane writing away, of course. She is living with her parents and elder siblings Cassandra and Henry. Upon Henry’s return from school, a huge party is thrown at the Austen residence in honor of his graduation. During the party, the family requests that Jane reads a piece of her work.

In walks Mr. Tom Lefroy, who is the nephew of an invited guest. Tom enters upon Jane’s reading, making a scene and unintentionally catching Jane’s attention. He then has the nerve to fall asleep by the end of her reading! Jane is furious and its love at first sight (although they aren’t aware of it yet, and figure out as the movie goes on)!

It takes some time before Tom successfully courts Jane. They start off with the type of love/hate relationships you find in middle school classrooms. When they finally get together, it makes your heart melt. (gush alert!) But, the journey of their relationship is neither easy nor perfect one. Twists and turns lurk at every corner. Different factors and people in their lives try to tear them apart. Jane even gives up an arranged marriage with a wealthy suitor for her love for Tom. When Jane finally decides to do what makes her happy, she is forced to make an adult decision that will tremendously affect her future. She must choose between what she wants vs. what is right.

It is because of her own love story that Jane was able to write and publish such memorable novels. In an era where obedience is valued over independent thought, where arranged marriages are the norm vs. marrying for love, she defies all the rules. Jane Austen took the all of the realities of her life, whether pleasant or destructive, and used everything as inspiration for her pieces. After seeing this movie, I am truly inspired to pursue more hobbies in my life!

I wanted to end with a few questions to think about or to discuss on this blog:

–    What are some hobbies or activities you are extremely passionate about?
–    What activities do you use as a creative outlet for your emotions, whether good or bad?
–    How far would you be willing to follow your dreams/passions in life?
–    What would you be willing to give up love or your own happiness for?

Thanks so much for reading this! I hope it was enjoyable! Have a great 2009 people!

<3,
Jessicaf

Tags: , ,

22 Responses to “Monday Madness Mondays “Becoming Jane””

  1. taylor nikole Says:

    hobbies and activities.
    id have to say reading and writing 😀
    and acting!

    activity as a creative outlet…. ummm writing most def.

    how far would i be willing to go to follow my dreams? pretty damn far 😀

    I would be willing to give up my own happiness and love for my family… if they needed me to do so…
    i don’t know… they are important to me 😀

    and jessica! yayyy i told youuu!
    I’m glad you got to write 😀
    i loved it 😀

  2. Auntie Kailin Says:

    Great review! Good for you to finally take the step toward coming out of your shell. Unfortunately, I haven’t seen this film, yet, but I will! Thanks for bringing this film up.

    First of all, I love anything Jane Austen. Shoot, I love her so much, I traveled to Bath, England at 19 while on break from college, stayed there about a week, and tried to visit all the places she wrote about in her books. I stayed there and hung out with the locals, trying to see the England that Jane Austen saw. I visited her home (which was later revealed as her neighbor’s home) so I got to see what Edwardian everyday life was truly like. I walked up and down the street, taking the same steps Jane Austen took, thinking what it would be like to be Jane, living in a time when women weren’t allowed to “make a living” as a writer, yet also determined to become one myself. What was amazing was that, for me, I saw Jane Austen’s England, and it was alive and well. And because I read her books, I can imagine seeing Mr. Darcy riding up to Jane’s house, visiting.

    If you ever get a chance to visit Bath, and you are a Jane Austen girl, then go. It is a charming city, and I can see where Jane gets her inspiration.

    I can truly relate to Jane in the sense that I was not supposed to pursue writing as a passion or a career. As an Asian American, I was told by everyone that I should pursue a career as a doctor. There’s nothing wrong with being a doctor or anything else, for that matter, but if it is your absolute passion and dream to be something else, you should at least give it a try.

    I could go on and on about the similarities I have with Jane Austen, including my first book experience, etc. But luckily, unlike Jane, I had the choice today to be both a writer and a wife, mother.

  3. jessica f Says:

    hi kailin! Thanks so much for reading 🙂 Yeah, I’m pretty shy when it comes to putting my own thoughts and stuff out there, but i love to encourage others!

    Kailin, when it comes to having the asian pressures i totally understand. They wanted to me to major in something practical. now that I look back at my undergrad years, I wish i had majored in something more artistic.
    I can’t believe you traveled to England! That is one of my dreams! And I def. want to do that after school is done. AND you got to see the neighbors’ house. You got to be where Jane actually lived and drew her inspiration from. That is truly amazing!

    I think you might enjoy the movie. If you share the same similarities as Jane, you must be one hell of a mother/wife/writer!! 🙂

  4. jessicaf Says:

    thanks so much for reading my first post! 🙂

  5. jessicaf Says:

    ok that was weird i tried to leave a longer message for you on my other cpu kailin, but it got stuck and never posted. But I can’t believe you got to go to england AND see where jane austen drew her inspiration from.

    On feeling the pressures of asian parents, i totally understand. looking back at my undergrad years, i wish i majored in something more artistic than economics. 😦

    And you must be one helluva mom/wife/writer if you share many similarities with jane!

  6. taylor nikole Says:

    arts!
    yay

  7. O.T Says:

    Hey awesome review, eh! Love the questions you asked too!! So I didn’t like this film so much. Maybe cause I’m not a romantic. I just think it was poorly acted. Maybe if they had different actors playing the roles I would have enjoyed it more.

  8. jessica f Says:

    thanks for reading everyone! you all made my day. i thought no one would want to read !!

    you ppl make my heart 🙂

  9. Kathy Says:

    Thanks so much for this review JessicaF! I don’t know if Kendra told you, but I was supposed to review “Mamma Mia!” for this week, and it was almost midnight on Sunday, and I had yet to sit down and write the review. Then juuust as I was about to start, I got an email from Kendra saying she had gotten a review for this week, so I didn’t have to do one til next week. So JessicaF, because of you, I got to go to sleep soon after I read that wonderful news. Thank you. 🙂

    This was a really well-written review. It had a peppy tone to it, which is always nice. And you asked a bunch of good questions. So I’m with Auntie Kailin – good for you for taking a chance and doing something different from what you’re used to.

    As for your questions…I’m not sure if it’s because of my personality or what, but I can’t think of anything I have a real passion for. There are many things I enjoy, like food for instance. But, you know, no matter how good the food is, I’m not going to wait on line or travel for more than an hour to eat. In fact, I don’t think there’s anything I’d wait for more than an hour for. Lol.

    But, when it comes to my family, I’ll pretty much do anything. 🙂

  10. jessica f Says:

    Hey Kathy,

    Thank you so much! I really enjoyed writing that review and hope to contribute more fun stuff like you do. I really like your blogs, they are super creative, interesting and FUN! So, really thank YOU! hahah. I was inspired to step out because of all the wonderful blogs and people on this site. It is a great place for creative encouragement. As far as passions, I love food too! And if I am too hungry, I can’t wait neither! Ahaha!!

  11. Auntie Kailin Says:

    @Kathy…Dude, I can’t believe you had to write a review that late into the night on top of everything else you write and do….so DOUBLE yippee Jessica came through with this Review.

  12. jessica f Says:

    I agree with Kailin. Can’t believe you were about to write a review that late at night!!

    @Kailin. Thank you so very much! 🙂 You’re so sweet!

  13. Auntie Kailin Says:

    Also, (I like joking with Kathy) @ Kathy…
    guess who bumped the Cleopatra movie review back a week … although it was written and ready to go? Yup – you and Taylor Nikole (TK) and your Twilight reviews. As if Twilight is so much more interesting than a 4-hours long 50-year-old movie….uh huh. 🙂

    So apparently, these things happen.

  14. taylor nikole Says:

    darn comment still under moderation… it was the first one too.. wonder if this will work:

    hobbies and activities.
    id have to say reading and writing 😀
    and acting!

    activity as a creative outlet…. ummm writing most def.

    how far would i be willing to go to follow my dreams? pretty damn far 😀

    I would be willing to give up my own happiness and love for my family… if they needed me to do so…
    i don’t know… they are important to me 😀

    and jessica! yayyy i told youuu!
    I’m glad you got to write 😀
    i loved it 😀

  15. Kathy Says:

    @ jessica f & Auntie Kailin – lol…You guys make it sound like I do these Herculean tasks. lol. It was my fault for putting it off for that long. And for saying I’d write the review in the first place. 😉

  16. jessica f Says:

    @Kathy- but you ARE hercules to us!! HAHAH 🙂 Always with the fun blogs yay!!

  17. taylor nikole Says:

    darn comment still under moderation… it was the first one too.. wonder if this will work:

    hobbies and activities.
    id have to say reading and writing
    and acting!

    activity as a creative outlet…. ummm writing most def.

    how far would i be willing to go to follow my dreams? pretty damn far

    I would be willing to give up my own happiness and love for my family… if they needed me to do so…
    i don’t know… they are important to me

    and jessica! yayyy i told youuu!
    I’m glad you got to write
    i loved it

  18. taylor nikole Says:

    darn comment still under moderation… it was the first one too.. wonder if this will work:

    hobbies and activities.
    id have to say reading and writing 😀
    and acting!

    activity as a creative outlet…. ummm writing most def.

    how far would i be willing to go to follow my dreams? pretty damn far 😀

    I would be willing to give up my own happiness and love for my family… if they needed me to do so…
    i don’t know… they are important to me 😀

    and jessica! yayyy i told youuu!
    I’m glad you got to write 😀
    i loved it 😀
    😀

  19. taylor nikole Says:

    darn comment still under moderation… it was the first one too.. wonder if this will work:

    hobbies and activities.
    id have to say reading and writing 😀
    and acting!

    activity as a creative outlet…. ummm writing most def.

    how far would i be willing to go to follow my dreams? pretty damn far 😀

    I would be willing to give up my own happiness and love for my family… if they needed me to do so…
    i don’t know… they are important to me 😀

    and jessica! yayyy i told youuu!
    I’m glad you got to write 😀
    i loved it 😀

  20. taylor nikole Says:

    darn comment still under moderation… it was the first one too.. wonder if this will work:

    hobbies and activities.
    id have to say reading and writing 😀
    and acting!

    activity as a creative outlet…. ummm writing most def.

    how far would i be willing to go to follow my dreams? pretty damn far

    I would be willing to give up my own happiness and love for my family… if they needed me to do so…
    i don’t know… they are important to me

    and jessica! yayyy i told youuu!
    I’m glad you got to write
    i loved it

  21. jessica f Says:

    taylor! thanks for all help and support! and thanks for answering my questions! 🙂 i drew much courage and inspiration to write bc of you, my lil one! ❤

  22. taylor nikole Says:

    haha yay im glad you got to see my answer!
    before it was being moderated
    tabby fixxyyy
    yay

Leave a Reply

