Video Game Awards

spike-vgas

So apparently, there’s an awards show for video games.  I did not know this.  And the VGAs are apparently a big deal judging by all the famous people that showed up (hosted by Jack Black, performances by 50 Cent, All-American Rejects, etc.).  You know what else I don’t know?  What the heck any of these games are:

Best Shooter: Gears of War 2 (Epic Games)
Best Xbox 360 Game: Gears of War 2 (Epic Games)
Best Indie Game (voted by fans): World of Goo (2D Boy)
Best RPG: Fallout 3 (Bethesda)
Best Music Game: Rock Band 2 (Harmonix)
Best PS3 Game: LittleBigPlanet (Media Molecule)
Best Driving Game: Burnout Paradise (Criterion)
Best Game Based on a Movie or TV Show: Lego Indiana Jones (Traveller’s Tales)
Best Fighting Game: Soul Calibur 4 (Project Soul)
Best Multiplayer Game: Left 4 Dead (Valve)
Best PC Game: Left 4 Dead (Valve)
Best Portable Game: Professor Layton (Level 5)
Best Wii Game: Boom Blox (EA Casual)
Best Individual Sports Game: Shaun White Snowboarding (Ubi Montreal)
Best Action Adventure Game: Grand Theft Auto IV (Rockstar Games)
Game of the Year: Grand Theft Auto IV (Rockstar Games)

I’m assuming the object of the game in Grand Theft Auto IV is to steal cars?  That sounds socially constructive.  I’m afraid to ask what the goal is in Left 4 Dead.  And what the heck do you do in World of Goo? And what’s the “game” in Rock Band 2?  Do you beat up musicians or something? And Lego Indiana Jones?  What…you try to build Indiana Jones out of Legos as fast as you can?  I don’t get it.

You know what I know how to play?  Solitaire.  Oh!  And Tetris.  I’m not good at either, but at least I know what they are.

I am so hip and happenin’ it’s nauseating. 😉

You can read the full list of nominees and winners here.

Tags:

13 Responses to “Video Game Awards”

  1. Emily Says:

    Rock Band 2, you are the musicians. And Lego Indiana Jones is just an action game, but you’re made of Legos. I can’t help ya out on any of the others, though. Whatever happened to Mario?? I mean, he still has games, but they’re not as good as they used to be. =/

  2. jessica f Says:

    HAHAH kathy. you’re always so funny! I have no idea what those games are neither! I can only play The Sims and Rollercoaster Tycoon for PC. But reading your blog reminded me of a really crazy story I read on yahoo Odd news. This 6 year old boy missed his school bus, so he drove his mom’s car to school. He drove for 6 miles before crashing! Amazing 6 miles! Anyway, the police asked him where he learned to drive the car and he answered, “by playing Grand Theft Auto.” What do you know! hahah just thought I’d share!

  3. Kathy Says:

    @ jessica f – Seriously? Wow. But I bet Grand Theft Auto doesn’t teach you how to parallel park huh? That is a skill forged on the brutal streets of New York City. So take that 6-year-old boy! 😉

  4. jessica f Says:

    @Kathy. HAHAHA. nope i bet it doesn’t teach parallel parking! He’d FAIL in NY HAHA and in San Fran too! Parallel parking = ARTFUL SKILL.

  5. G Says:

    GTA teaches you how to bust a cap 😉

  6. Binks Says:

    Kathy, Kathy *shakes head* I think you may have lost cool points, world of goo is understandable not to know, since I dun know what it is either….but Rockband, Grand Theft Auto and Indie J??!! *sigh* What’s the world coming to these days? =P
    Rockband: Basically it’s like Dance Dance Revolution (ya know that game, right? haha) but with instruments. Hit the keys that the screen tells you and make music 😛 (its way funner than it sounds, I swear)
    Grand Theft Auto: Your sort of like a thug or gangster…only a cool one with goals and missions. You beat up people, steal cars, get cash and escape cops. Awesomeness at its best 😀
    Fallout 3: Kind of like a war/horror game, where the planet was under nuclear attack and some people turned out mutated and stuff
    Gears of War: Your a soldier on some fictional planet
    Soul Calibur 4: is a Fighting game, like “POW-POW” followed by a “KO” =P
    The snowboarding one is duh…snowboarding…

    I dun know what the others are though. I hope that helped for some of you. =D

  7. taylor nikole Says:

    “I am so hip and happenin’”
    *giggles*

  8. C Says:

    @ G

    LMAO!! so true.

    ———-

    I only play tetris, bejewled, hearts, whatever is on my cell. Oh and guitar hero Im kick ass in guitar hero haha

    I don’t know 95% of the games on that list.

  9. taylor nikole Says:

    ^^
    i play tanngrams on my friends iphone 😀
    muahah
    im obsessed 😀

  10. G Says:

    Guitar Hero!!!!!

    I think only the die-hards know of those games haha.

  11. taylor nikole Says:

    guitar hero is amazing! 😀

  12. taylor nikole Says:

    yay!

  13. foretold Says:

    I totally love World of Goo! It’s like Legos and geomag, but with cute and strange smily faces on them. You must check it out.

Leave a Reply

