WTF: Mammoth Clone

mammoth
 
Scientists are very close to completely sequencing the genome of a mammoth.  You know, a mammoth…huge prehistoric animal, starred in fine animated features such as “Ice Age” and “Ice Age 2.”
ice-age     ice-age-2
Since they’re so close to figuring out the entire genetic code of the mammoth, people have started talking about cloning a mammoth.  The ability to clone a mammoth isn’t quite here yet, but will probably arrive sooner rather than later given the rapidly improving pace of cloning technology. 
Why on earth would anyone want to clone a mammoth?  Well, there are already efforts to bring back extinct or endangered species through cloning.  They already cloned a gaur (sort of like an ox), which is currently on the endangered list.  (The cloned gaur only survived for a couple days though because it came down with an infection.)  The other reason for cloning is to figure out how to prevent the extinction of currently endangered species by studying extinct species.
The downside?  Well, cloning anything is really expensive.  The cost of cloning a mammoth is estimated to be at least $10 million.  There is also the ethical issue.  Where do you draw the line at cloning?  Scientists have successfully sequenced the mitochondrial DNA of Neanderthals (our closest ancestors) and are currently working on sequencing the full genome. If they’re successful, should we clone a Neanderthal?
You can read more about the Mammoth Genome Project here.  And here’s another interesting article about cloning in general.  And another one specifically about cloning a mammoth.
So…cloning a mammoth…Win, Toss, or Fail?
Tags: , ,

12 Responses to “WTF: Mammoth Clone”

  1. Binks Says:

    I say win, mostly. Looking specifically through the eyes of a scientist.

    It could be a Toss too. For economic issues 😛 aaaaaannnd because I’m still not sure where I stand on the whole cloning thing. I can see pros and cons to both sides.

    Definitely not a fail though.

  2. Emily Says:

    Fail, because they would just die out again. Some things happen for a reason. Like species going extinct.

  3. eddy Says:

    Win! That is just too cool! I can’t wait!

  4. Alyssa Says:

    Yeah that is definitley a Fail, some times scientist need to leave well enough alone. But if I was like 10 I would say go for it, don’t ask me why but mammoths were my favorite animal when I was younger.

  5. jessica f Says:

    i am a bit unsettled with cloning a mammoth. I mean, do we even know how to care for one? All we know is through research.

    I am not a big fan of cloning. We are just messing with nature. I also don’t agree with cloning for reasons such as – organ growers or food or etc. I just feel like the clones are seen as some robot form when they too are creatures with feelings.

    Anyway, the mammoth might get lonely…and kill us all in a mad rampage… 😦 You never know!

  6. Ashley Nguyen Says:

    I agree with Binks. It would probably win because it’s for research reasons and it could also be a toss because of the amount of money they’re spending

  7. DeannaRochelle Says:

    I would say fail as well. I mean…animals become extinct for a REASON. It’s one of nature’s natural processes. Not that I’m saying it wouldn’t be neat to see a real live mammoth…but it seems kind of cruel to the animal considering it would probably die after a short while like the gaur did.

  8. taylor nikole Says:

    hmmm i think its pretty damn cool
    yet pretty scary 😀

    maybe more of a win than a fail…

  9. MarilyneL Says:

    Wow…my scientist side says go for it but then there is this side of me that is kinda scared of what would be our future like, a far as defining the line between what is ethical and what is not… sooner or later, people will want to be cloned, as if that was not yet a fact, and well, I’m against that.

  10. G Says:

    WIN! I want one as a pet!

  11. Emma-Lu Says:

    Nope I’m not for cloning at ALL!
    Even though the idea of a cuddly pet mammoth is tempting in reality it’s not the best idea.

    Imagine the psychological impact on those cloned creatures? And if humans start doing it regularly, how will you trace your roots, your history, your family? how will you forge your own identity and make a place for yourself in this crazy world? It will be 10 times harder.

    I just get the hibby jibbies when I think about it.. later ladies x

  12. foretold Says:

    I would totally love to have a cozy furry mammoth to cuddle to, escpecially now in winter.

Leave a Reply

