Best Job Ever?

Professional Bird Namer.

For some strange reason, Taylor Nikole thought that I would be in the running for the race to see who would be the first to ask about the blue-footed boobies (from Kristin’s post about her trip to Ecuador).  But sadly, I never had a chance at winning this competition.  Not only because I was up against powerhouses like G and Binks (congratulations on the win G!), but also because I had just learned what a blue-footed boobie was maybe a couple hours or so before I read that post.  Funny story (as in funny coincidence, not funny haha)…I was helping one of my students learn about evolution for her biology class, and she told me she visited the Galapagos Islands, and I was like, “Wow! You went to the Galapagos?? That’s so cool! You were where Darwin was!” (I know…I’m such a nerd), and she told me all about it, and how she saw blue-footed boobies everywhere.  Apparently, blue-footed boobies are to the Galapagos Islands what pigeons are to New York City.

There is a point to this post.  So after reading about the blue-footed boobies, I was reminded of another bird with a, ahh, colorful name that I read about a while ago.   I remember this name clearly because of the memorable headline.   In fact, I think it was probably the best headline I read in 2008.

So if you were amused by the Blue-footed Boobies

blue-footed-boobies

…then what do you think about the Great Tit?

great-tit

And alright, alright…if you must really know what the best headline of 2008 was, here it is.

Tags:

21 Responses to “Best Job Ever?”

  1. LI Says:

    Beautiful birds

    “You were where Darwin was”
    That’s not nerd but a cool thought 😀

  2. alyssa Says:

    Clearly the person responsible for naming these birds is a 12-13 year old boy that needs to have the sex talk(as Kendra talked about yesterday) .

    Or maybe it’s a 45 year old biologist that never quite grew up lol.

  3. G Says:

    Hahahahaha. Those are very pet-worthy birds hahaha. They can be named push-up, sports and…umm…padded hahaha.

    Thanks, Kathy 😉

  4. jessica f Says:

    uh.. haha totally lost in this blog. just wanted to say HI!! I can’t wait to get off work! Those birdies are super adorable.

  5. Kathy Says:

    @ jessica f – Oh no. I’ve confused you. This situation must be remedied. Was it the race? The birds? My existence in general? 😉

    @ G – LOL…Bravo with the names! Most excellent! 😀

  6. taylor nikole Says:

    hehehehehe
    i was having a bad day
    and then hahah because of this blog i smiled
    but cutting the musshy stuff!

    all i have to say is pahahah
    dirty minds!
    mainly entertainment?

  7. taylor nikole Says:

    oh geez…
    “i’m going to observe the great tits”
    ‘i’m going to research the great tits”

    ohh those bird watchers hahaha

  8. jessica f Says:

    @Kathy – i think it was the birds. LOL I kinda caught the race to ask about these boobied birdies from kk’s post(?) HAHA Kathy, your existence makes me very happy! I love reading your blogs while dying of boredom at work. esp sitting and doing accounting ALL DAY!!

  9. taylor nikole Says:

    although kathy
    the gold medal goes to you
    when it comes to posting something
    having to do with the matter at hand 😀
    yepp
    you win the gold
    said bird and said competition needed only a little appreciation for me to finally realize you deserve the gold PAHAH
    but you don’t win the procrastination gold

  10. G Says:

    😉

  11. jessicaf Says:

    i wish tay or kathy were on right now!!

  12. jessicaf Says:

    i need some cheerin up! 😦

  13. taylor nikole Says:

    awww whyyy jess???

  14. jessicaf Says:

    haha i will FB message you. 🙂 check your inbox

  15. KAR11 Says:

    wow!!!..aside from peacocks and humming birds these blue-footed boobies are sooo beautiful !! i never knew that such beautiful birds existed in this world..All i see are crows and seaguls..i wish i could see those blue-footed boobies everyday in Burnaby instead of boring Crows…

  16. Kathy Says:

    @ jessica f – Oh no. Did the confusion over the birds sadden you? 😉 I hope Taylor Nikole was able to cheer you up! That Taylor Nikole…little in size but big in heart. 🙂

  17. jessica f Says:

    @kathy – hahah thanks!! tay helped out a bit 🙂

  18. taylor nikole Says:

    hehe not only do people all call me tk… they all know that im tiny :-p

  19. Kathy Says:

    Well thank you for the gold Taylor Nikole. I still think I’m in the running for the procrastination gold though, so you better watch your back. 😉

  20. Emma-Lu Says:

    hahaha, such suggestive names for such cute birdys tsk tsk 😛

  21. Girls by Design: This is a Blog » Blog Archive » I See Dead People Says:

    […] always hilarious G, with a knack for naming birds, told me about a study in which people who drank more than 7 cups of coffee in a single day started […]

Leave a Reply

