An idea

travel-globe

A couple weeks ago, I asked what your goals are for the New Year and what kinds of things you’d like to see on the blog.  A few of you mentioned traveling.  And call me crazy (I’m looking at you Emma-Lu!  lol), but y’all seem like quite the international crowd.  So I was wondering if any of you would like to tell the rest of us about your hometowns or neighborhoods.  Through writing, or photographs, or video, or whatever other means you think can communicate to the rest of us what it’s like where you live.

Things like:

  • the language(s) spoken
  • the people who live there
  • what people talk about
  • how people spend their free time
  • customs or traditions visitors should know about
  • popular places to visit
  • unpopular places to visit that are still cool
  • things to do
  • THE FOOD
  • attitudes toward women

…you get the idea.  Basically, the things you’d be interested to know if you were reading about another place.  And not necessarily like something you’d read in a travel guide really, because we can always go ahead and read the travel guides.  This is just supposed to be an easygoing, personal introduction to different places and cultures.  Particularly an introduction from the female perspective.  Even if you just visited a new place, that would be cool too because it’s a different viewpoint.

I’ll try to do one (or two, or a few) about the city that I grew up in and love to its core, New York.  And I know I’m not the only New Yorker here, so don’t be shy now.  😉

So think about it.  If you’d like to share, shoot me an email.  🙂

P.S. – If English isn’t your first language, no worries.  If your writing just needs a quick once-over for spelling and grammatical mistakes, I’m your gal and would be more than happy to edit.  🙂

Tags:

14 Responses to “An idea”

  1. jessicaf Says:

    will dO! cant wait. this will be fun. i love learning new things and learning about new ppl!

  2. MarilyneL Says:

    yeah, I’ll certainly share my Quebec with you gals! 😀 But for now, I’ll go to sleep, but I’ll be on it soon!

  3. Emma-Lu Says:

    Kathy, DAMN! you made me blush! aarggghh… ok I’ll put something together about Cape Town in South Africa and I’ll send it to you xx

  4. Kathy Says:

    AWESOME you guys! I’m holding you to it! Or else sooner or later, you’ll get called out on the blog. Mwahahaha!

    Seriously though, there’s no pressure. Have fun with it! 🙂

  5. Auntie Kailin Says:

    Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    This is what I pictured GBD’s community website to be more of…people sharing about their lives, experiences, hometowns, quotes, views on women, culture, etc.

    To me, this is community!

    We can learn a lot from each other and maybe and hopefully, as women, lead the way toward a better world. 🙂

  6. Megi Says:

    Hey Kathy..that’s idea is great.
    How can I sent you info for my country(bulgaria)?..and where?

  7. Kathy Says:

    @ Megi – Alright Megi! Thanks for joining the club! You can send your stuff to me at kathy@girlsbydesign.com. Bulgaria! Neat! 🙂

    @ Auntie Kailin – Whoohoo!

  8. Lola Says:

    Hey! I think this is a fantastic idea!
    I’m from France and today, actually, my hometown is featured on The New York Times as one of the 44 cities to visit in 2009!!
    I’d like to write something about this.. is it good?

  9. Megi Says:

    Kathy..hmm I tried,but I can’t you my story.Can you give me your mail,or something?

  10. Megi Says:

    Kathy..hmm I tried,but I can’t send you my story.Can you give me your mail,or something?

  11. Megi Says:

    Ohh sorry about this,hmm..stupid posts,but I’m very ‘outofmymind’ right now.I’m going to send my info 🙂 and..I think,that you can read very soon.

  12. superkurre Says:

    This sounds cool! I love promoting Helsinki, and Finland in general. Just cause the first thing everyone says about FInland is “isn’t it cold there?”, like it was an arctic country or something. Sorry, not bitter at all…

    So anyhoo, Kathy, will mail you with some stories and facts, if you still want them. 🙂

  13. Emily Says:

    Hmm. If people want to hear about Fort Smith, Arkansaw, I’d be happy to share… Any other Southerners around? =P

  14. Kathy Says:

    @ Emily – Yeah I wanna hear about Fort Smith, AR! Bring it on girl! Don’t forget to talk about the food! You have my email? kathy@girlsbydesign.com. Whoohoo!

    (I remember you Emily. You’re one of the few who piped up against the Obama crowd, way back for the News Day Tuesday on the election. I appreciated that you spoke up and gave a different point of view, despite the majority. I dig it!)

Leave a Reply

